Liberty County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to Liberty County

Guide to Liberty County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Liberty County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Liberty County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 5, 1777
County Seat Hinesville
Courthouse
Address Liberty County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
PO Box 829
Hinesville, GA 31313-3240
Phone: 912.876.2164
Liberty County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Liberty County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
PO Box 829
Hinesville, GA 31313-3240
Phone: 912.876.2164

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from late 1700’s, birth records from 1919 and death records from 1927; Clerk of Court has divorce, court and land records from 1756; some early records lost.[1]

Beginning Dates for Liberty County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1919
1700s
1927

1756
1700s

History

Parent County

1777--Liberty County was created 5 February 1777 from St. Andrew, St. James and St. John Parishes.
County seat:  Hinesville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Congregational
  • Midway Congregational Church Records, Liberty County, Georgia. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Stacy, James. History of the Midway Congregational Church, Liberty County, Georgia. 1951. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1746-1828 - Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1746-1828. Batch C505921 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1748-1788 - Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1748-1788. Batch C505923 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1754-1898 - Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1754-1898. Batch C505924 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1844-1863 - Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1844-1863. Batch C505921 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1864-1867 - Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1864-1867. Batch C505922 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1753-1858 - Congregational Church, Midway, Marriage Index 1753-1858. Batch M505921 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1753-1785 - Congregational Church, Midway, Marriage Index 1753-1785. Batch M505923 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1754-1898 - Congregational Church, Midway, Marriage Index 1754-1898. Batch M505924 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1859-1867 - Congregational Church, Midway, Marriage Index 1859-1867. Batch M505922 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

  • 1870 Residents, physical descriptions of Persons (digital images) Georgia Pioneers

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Liberty County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Taylors Creek: Story of the Community and Her People Through 200 years. Pearson, Ga.: Press of the Atkinson County Citizen, 1963. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Galiberty.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Liberty County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Liberty County, Georgia:


- 14th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate),
- 20th Battalion, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 25th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and F
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (also has other war's information)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Liberty County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1785-1895 - Owen, Clint. Liberty County, Georgia Marriages, 1785-1895 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1998. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1867-1895 - Liberty County Marriage Index 1867-1895. Batch M713191 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Liberty County, Georgia. Page 157 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 38-39. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 4.9 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 17:21.
  • This page has been accessed 6,076 times.