Liberty County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Liberty County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Liberty County Courthouse
1923 Sam Houston Street
Liberty, TX 77575
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1875, probate, court and land
records from 1874 District Clerk has divorce records
1836--Liberty County was created on 17 March 1836 from the Old Mexican Municipality. County seat: Liberty 
See an interactive map of Liberty County border changes.
1872--Liberty County Courthouse, built in 1857, was destroyed on December 28, 1872. County records were destroyed. 
1874--Courthouse and county records were destroyed by fire in December 1874.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
Abshier Cemetery 295457N 0943725W Whites Bayou
Albritton Cemetery 295720N 0944324W Shiloh
Ames Cemetery 300246N 0944457W Daisetta
Boothe Cemetery 301953N 0945852W Tarkington Prairie
Branch Cemetery 300423N 0944753W Liberty
DeVore Cemetery Liberty Cleveland Cemetery Cleveland
Concord Cemetery Rye
Fairlawn Cemetery 300233N 0944636W Liberty
Fields Cemetery 302244N 0944652W Romayor
Freeman Cemetery 295932N 0943042W Whites Bayou
French Cemetery Dayton
Greenville Cemetery Kenefick
Hank Cemetery 302355N 0944617W Romayor
Linney Cemetery 300332N 0945313W Dayton
Lone Star Cemetery 295545N 0944409W Shiloh
Lums Cemetery 301600N 0945440W Tarkington Prairie
Magnolia Cemetery 300314N 0945251W Dayton
McGinnis Cemetery 301846N 0945936W Tarkington Prairie
McNulty Cemetery 302306N 0944554W Romayor
Miller Cemetery 295813N 0944338W Shiloh
Moss Hill Cemetery 301436N 0944430W Hardin
Neyland Cemetery 300419N 0944807W Liberty
Norris Cemetery 295742N 0944300W Shiloh
Oak Dale Cemetery 300516N 0943819W Daisetta
Old Hardin 300604N 0944555W Liberty
Pin Oak Cemetery 301838N 0950730W Fostoria
Pine Grove 295720N 0944435W Shiloh
Quarters Cemetery 295805N 0944501W Moss Bluff
Riggs Cemetery Cleveland
Romayor Cemetery Romayor
Ryan Cemetery 301352N 0945758W Located 14 miles north of Dayton on Hwy 321
Sahara Cemetery 300000N 0943229W Whites Bayou
Saint Annes 300313N 0950031W Huffman
Speight Cemetery 295644N 0944345W Shiloh
Swinney Cemetery 295538N 0944431W Shiloh
Wells Cemetery 301842N 0950532W Cleveland
Wood Cemetery 295738N 0944222W Shiloh
Worthy Cemetery 295514N 0944220W Shiloh
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Calvary Church 300419N 0945426W Dayton
Concord Church 302501N 0944609W Rye
Crossroads Church 301715N 0950820W Fostoria
Eastgate Church 300230N 0950045W Huffman
Faith Tabernacle 301517N 0945812W Tarkington Prairie
First Baptist Church - Romayor Romayor
Grace Church 301758N 0950503W Cleveland
Green Chapel 302605N 0944900W Romayor
Greenville Church 300740N 0945214W Capers Ridge
Hardin Church 300929N 0944520W Capers Ridge
Hi-Way Tabernacle 301844N 0945921W Tarkington Prairie
Little Flock 302354N 0945615W Rayburn
Mount Calvary 301449N 0944135W Hardin
Mount Calvary 301541N 0944047W Arizona Creek
Mount Olive Church 300309N 0945352W Dayton
New Salem Church 301910N 0950339W Cleveland
North Height 300422N 0944723W Liberty
North Hill Church 301127N 0943743W Hardin
Oak Shade Church 302157N 0945956W Tarkington Prairie
Olive Bethel 301054N 0944552W Capers Ridge
Pin Oak Church 301839N 0950728W Cleveland
Pleasant Hill 300004N 0944518W Liberty
Prairie Missionary 301738N 0945846W Tarkington Prairie
Rainbow Baptist Church Rye
Rayburn Church 302324N 0945631W Rayburn
Rebekah Church 302325N 0944557W Romayor
Rural Shade Church 301734N 0945838W Tarkington Prairie
Sacred Heart 300422N 0944013W Daisetta
Saint Annes Church 300316N 0950046W East Gate
Saint Johns Church 300459N 0944607W Liberty
Saint Pauls Church 300350N 0944703W Liberty
Saint Thomas 295804N 0944432W Shiloh
Shiloh Church 295656N 0944143W Shiloh
South Dayton 295948N 0945151W Moss Bluff
Turkey Creek 300105N 0944634W Liberty
Winfree Church 295321N 0944847W Moss Bluff
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Liberty County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Liberty County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
Societies and Libraries
- Humble Area Genealogical Society
Following ancestral footsteps in and around Atascocita, Crosby, Huffman, Kingwood, New Caney, Porter, Splendora, and Humble, Texas
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- TXGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Liberty County, Texas. Page 668 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ GenDisasters.com - Liberty, TX Courthouse Fire, Dec 1872 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17586/liberty-tx-courthouse-fire-dec-1872
- This page was last modified on 22 January 2015, at 14:23.
- This page has been accessed 7,781 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More