Lichfield Cathedral, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Lichfield Cathedral, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lichfield Cathedral, Staffordshire
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lichfield
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Not Applicable PLU
Registration District Lichfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1744
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Dean of Lichfield; Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LICHFIELD, a city and county of itself, and the head of a union, in the S. division of the county of Stafford, 16½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Stafford,

The city comprises the parish of St. Mary, of St. Chad, and part of St. Michael; also the liberty of the Cathedral Close, which is extra-parochial. The whole parish of St. Chad, including the villages of Elmhurst and Curborough. The church, by far the oldest in Lichfield, was rebuilt on the site of an ancient one. At Burntwood and Wall, in this parish, are chapels, both erected by subscription; and a district chapel has just been built at Leamonsley, also in St. Michael's parish.

There are places of worship in Lichfield for Independents, Wesleyans, and Kilhamites, and Roman Catholics. Lichfield Cathedral is the seat of the Diocese of Lichfield. It is located in the county of Staffordshire. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Lichfield Cathedral parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
LICHFIELD CATHEDRAL PARISH (1637) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1665-1702

FS 1660-1875
1665-1879

NBI

1637-1897

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Lichfield Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Lichfield/Cathedral/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 78-85. Adapted. Date accessed: 15 May 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 20:04.
  • This page has been accessed 667 times.