Lichfield St Chad, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Lichfield St Chad, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lichfield St Chad, Staffordshire
St Chads Church and Stowe Pool Lichfield.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lichfield; North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Lichfield PLU
Registration District Lichfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lichfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lichfield St Chad is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Curborough and Elmhurst. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Lichfield St Chad include: Methodist New Connexion and Primitive Methodist. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Lichfield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and Society of Friends/Quaker.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of  Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Lichfield St Chad also known as Stow St Chad parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
LICHFIELD ST CHAD PARISH (1580) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1635-1946
1635-1933
1635-1925
FS 1659-1877
1659-1837


NBI



1580-1897

Lichfield Record Office holds deposited parish registers Bap 1635-1957  Marr 1635-1963   Bur 1635-1953  Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishops Transcripts Bap 1659-1892 Marr 1639-1837  Bur 1659-1892

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Non-Conformist Churches

Lichfield Primitive Methodist Circuit registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  LICHFIELD PRIMITIVE METHODIST CIRCUIT (1840) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1840-1846




Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Lichfield Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Lichfield/StChad/index.html

Reference

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,094 times.