LimburgEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Limburg, The Netherlands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
You can find the Geographical and Historical information on Limburg here: Limburg
Information on the capital city can be found here: Maastricht
Did you know?
Some famous Limburgians
Henriëtte d'Oultremont de Wégimont (1792-1864)- 2nd wife of King Willem I
Peter Debye (1884-1966) - Physicist, Nobelprize winner
Genealogy in Limburg
Many people in Limburg used fixed family names long before the introduction of the civil registration which makes research easier. Most Limburg records are kept by the Limburg regional historical center. Many marriage records from Limburg can be found in WieWasWie.
Emigration from Limburg
In the middle of the nineteenth century, Limburg was a poor region. People moved to urban areas or left the country to work in nearby Belgium or Germany or even to emigrate to the United States. Because of the American Homestead act of 1862, the peak of the Limburg emigration was in 1863. The people of Limburg were predominantly catholic and settled mainly in catholic regions of Minnesota. For more information about emigration from Limburg, see the Limburg Emigrant Page.
Things you can do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 20:06.
- This page has been accessed 1,412 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More