Limehouse St Anne, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes;

Guide to Limehouse St Anne, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Limehouse St Anne, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Stepney PLU
Registration District Stepney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'Limehouse St Anne, a parish (1730) and a sub-district, in Stepney district, County of Middlesex, 3 miles east St Paul's Cathedral, London. Prior to the 1730, the parishioners were included in Stepney St Dunstan Parish till 1730. The parish includes Limehouse, the Regent's and ship building docks, and until 1838, included part of the hamlet of Ratcliff, and included the chapelry of Limehouse St John the Evangelist, and parts of the chapelries of Bow-Common and Ratcliff.[1]

'The head-living, or that of Limehouse-St. Anne, is a rectory, united with the chapelries of St Andrews and St Peter's missions.

'A Congregationalists (or Independents) chapel was built in 1866; and there are several other dissenting chapels in the boundary.'[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Limehouse St Anne Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1730
1730
1730
Images
1730-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1897 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1783-1837 DocklandsAncestors[7] 1783-1837 DocklandsAncestors[7] 1783-1837 DocklandsAncestors[7]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[8]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438814.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Limehouse on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 85-87. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 February 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson, “Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,” (Edinburgh: A, Fullerton and Co., 1870). Online here.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Anne, Limehouse in Tower Hamlets Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Limehouse St Anne in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Limehouse St Anne in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Limehouse St Anne in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 3,812 times.