Limestone County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Limestone County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Limestone County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records
Limestone County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Limestone County
Location in the state of Alabama
Facts
Founded February 6, 1818
County Seat Athens
Courthouse
Limestone County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Limestone County Courthouse
310 W. Washington Ave.,
Athens, AL 35611
Phone:(256) 233-6406 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Archives has birth and death records 1881-1913
marriage records 1832-1900 divorce records 1896-1947
land and court records 1818-1900, tax records 1861-1900,
Newspapers 1868-1985 Probate Judge has marriage probate land records from after 1900
Clerk Circuit Court has court records after 1900 and divorce records after 1947
[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Limestone County was created 6 February 1818 from the Cherokee and Chicksaw Cession in 1816.
County seat: Athens [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Limestone County had a destructive courthouse fire in 1862.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Allimestone.jpg

Resources

Biographies

  • Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Limestone County, Alabama begins on page 71.

Cemeteries

  • Douthat, James L. Wheeler Reservoir Cemeteries. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free surname index and publisher's bookstore at Mountain Press.

Additional Limestone County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Limestone County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1820 9,871
1830 14,807 50.0%
1840 14,374 −2.9%
1850 16,483 14.7%
1860 15,306 −7.1%
1870 15,017 −1.9%
1880 21,600 43.8%
1890 21,201 −1.8%
1900 22,387 5.6%
1910 26,880 20.1%
1920 31,341 16.6%
1930 36,629 16.9%
1940 35,642 −2.7%
1950 35,766 0.3%
1960 36,513 2.1%
1970 41,699 14.2%
1980 46,005 10.3%
1990 54,135 17.7%
2000 65,676 21.3%
2010 82,782 26.0%
For tips on accessing Limestone County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Elkmont

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Limestone County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Limestone County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.198 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Limestone County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

 Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Limestone County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Limestone County.

- 9th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Limestone Troopers"
- 9th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Limestone Grays"
- 35th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and G
- 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, formerly Company C, 2nd Battalion
- 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E, formerly Companies B/G, 2nd Battalion "Limestone Rebels"
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B (formerly Co. "A", 40th TN Infantry)
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (formerly Co. "I", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)



Civil War Battles Fought in Limestone County
  • 1864 - January 26 = Athens
  • 1864 - October 26-29 = Decatur

Battle information from Civil War Battle Summaries by State, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Map showing Civil War battles in Alabama.

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Limestone County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Abstracts of The Limestone County News (1859), The Union Banner (1860), and The Athens Post (1865-1870) were published in:

  • 1859-1870 - Caver, Larry E. Abstracts from Alabama Newspapers, Volume II: Limestone County, Madison County, Marshall County, Jackson County. Carrollton, Miss.: Pioneer Publishing Co., 2007. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • 1931, 1941, 1942, 1944-1949, 1968 - The Alabama Courier (Athens, Ala.) at Ancestry ($).

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Limestone County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Limestone County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • 1866-1870 - Hageness, MariLee Beatty. Probate Records 1866-1870 Limestone County Alabama. Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research, 2001. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Limestone County is in District 3.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
  • 1881-1898 - Limestone County Birth Index 1881-1898. Batch C593326 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1896-1898 - Limestone County Birth Index 1896-1898. Batch C593327 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1821–1862, 1924, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
Death
  • 1881-1898 - Limestone County Death Index 1881-1898. Batch B547341 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Athens-Limestone Public Library
405 E. South St.
Athens, Alabama 35611
Telephone: 256-232-1233

Limestone County Archives

Family History Center

Limestone County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Limestone County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Limestone County p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Limestone County Alabama in AllFreeRecords.com (accessed 16 March 2014).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 March 2014, at 15:28.
  • This page has been accessed 14,421 times.