Limington, SomersetEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Limington, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Limington church Somerset
|Poor Law Union||Yeovil PLU|
|Parish registers: 1684|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1594|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Record Office|
LIMINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Yeovil, hundred of Stone, W. division of Somerset, 1¼ mile (E. S. E.) from Ilchester.
Limington St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Somerset. Other places in the parish include: Draycott. .
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Limington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|LIMINGTON PARISH Online Records|
Draycott registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|DRAYCOTT PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474603.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Date accessed and adapted: 23 September 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
- ↑ 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
- This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 14:05.
- This page has been accessed 1,392 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki