Linby, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Linby, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1692
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


LINBY, or Lyndby (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 7¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Nottingham.[1]

Additional information:

Linby St Michael is an Ancient Parish which neighbours the extra parochial area of Newstead Priory, Nottinghamshire.

The church of St Michael originated in the 12th century and was restored in 1898 and 1914 and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English heritage British listed building

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of this parish but no information has yet been published work in progress

See also Linby Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Linby St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
LINBY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1692-1901 Marriages 1692-1941 Burials 1692-1946 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1835
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Linby

Linby - St. Michael's.  A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions in the Church Yard dating from 1682 onwards. Alphabetical listing giving surname, given name, date of death, and age at death. Article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 91, pages 50-54, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438905.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Linby or Lindeby in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:20.
  • This page has been accessed 994 times.