Lincoln County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Lincoln County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 28, 1871
County Seat Star City
Courthouse
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
300 S Drew Street
Star City, AR 71667
Phone: 870.628.5114


Contents

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse
300 S Drew Street
Star City, AR 71667
Phone: 870.628.5114

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records from 1871 and tax records.[1]

Beginning years for Lincoln County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1871 1914* 1871 1871 1871
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

County seat: Star City [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Arkansas  • Cleveland  • Desha  • Drew  • Jefferson

Lincoln CountyChicot CountyDesha CountyCleveland CountyArkansas CountyJefferson CountyAshley CountyDrew CountyUnion CountyBradley CountyCalhoun CountyDallas CountyOuachita CountyHot Spring CountyGrant CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountySaline CountyPhillips CountyMonroe CountyPrairie CountyCoahoma CountyBolivar CountyWashington CountySunflower CountySharkey CountyHumphreys CountyLeflore CountyTunica CountyQuitman CountyTallahatchie CountyARLincoln1.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Very few Native Americans lived in Lincoln County, though the Quapaw technically owned the land that is now Lincoln County.
  • 1827 - The McLain, Lee, and Douglass families, established homes in a community called Auburn.
  • 1836 - Thomas Griffis bought land at what is now Griffith Springs and built a cotton gin.
  • 1846 - John S. Hall and his family arrived from South Carolina and established Hall’s Station.
  • 1847 May - Elias King Hays arrived from Tennessee and established Cornerville in southwestern Lincoln County.
  • 1871 March 28 - Lincoln County was established.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Lincoln County hit a high mark of 20,200 in 1930, a low of 12,900 in 1970 and is now (2010) at 14,100.

Maps

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1871-1936 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Guardian bonds and letters 1875-1910; Probate records 1871-1887; Wills 1871-1936.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1876-1927 - Lincoln County Birth Index 1876-1927. Batch C748473 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1882-1885 - Lincoln County Birth Index 1882-1885. Batch C586031 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lincoln County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lincoln County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Lincoln County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Lincoln County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lincoln County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 July 2014, at 21:26.
  • This page has been accessed 5,269 times.