Lincoln County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Lincoln County
Guide to Lincoln County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lincoln County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 20, 1796 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Lincolnton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Lincoln County Courthouse 210 Humphrey Street PO Box 340 Lincolnton, GA 30817 Phone: 706.359.4444 Lincoln County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Court has court has brith records from 1920, marriage
records from 1810, death records from 1930 and probate records
from 1796; Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records
from 1796 and ladn records from 1790[1]
History
Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1796--Lincoln County was created 20 February 1796 fromWilkes County. County seat: Lincolnton [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- 1866-1884 - Lincoln County Colored Marriage Books AA and BB Index 1866-1884. Batch M713221 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1884-1895 - Lincoln County Colored Marriage Book C Index 1884-1895. Batch M713222 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to Lincoln County for European settlers included:
- Savannah River pre-historic
- Occaneechi Path pre-historic
- Middle Creek Trading Path pre-historic
- Fall Line Road about 1735
- Augusta-Savannah Trail 1740s
- Augusta and Cherokee Trail 1740s
- Great Valley Road (south fork) 1740s
- Charleston-Ft. Charlotte Trail in South Carolina about 1765
- Ft. Charlotte and Cherokee Old Path in South Carolina about 1765
Military
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Lincoln County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills, 1796-1832 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book B, 1796-1808 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book E, 1833-1877 Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1806-1873 - Lincoln County Marriage Books G thru I Index 1806-1873. Batch M713223 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1873-1904 - Lincoln County Marriage Books J and K Index 1873-1904. Batch M713224 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Lincoln County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Georgia. Page 157 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 04:38.
- This page has been accessed 1,413 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

