Lincoln County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Lincoln County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 4, 1873
County Seat Ivanhoe
Courthouse
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
319 N Rebecca
Ivanhoe, MN 56142
Phone: 507.694.1360

Contents

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth, and marriage records from 1879,
death and court records from 1880 and divorce records from 1891.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1877.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1873. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1873--Lincoln County was created 4 November 1873 from Lyon County.  County seat: Ivanhoe [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places 

For a list of cities and towns go to hometownlocator.com or wikipedia.com.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Lincoln – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

  • Radzilowski, John.Out on the Wind: Poles and Danes in Lincoln County, Minnesota, 1880-1905. Marshall, MN: Crossings Press, 1992. Print.

Maps

Mnlincoln.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Minnesota page 365, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 3,844 times.