Lincoln County, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Lincoln County
Guide to Lincoln County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lincoln County, Nevada | |
| Map | |
| Location in the state of Nevada | |
![]() Location of Nevada in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 26, 1866 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Pioche |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | 181 Main Street Pioche, Nevada 89043 Phone: 775-962-5390 Lincoln County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 26 February 1866 from Nye
- County Seat: Pioche [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Clark | Nye | White Pine | Beaver County, Utah | Iron County, Utah | Millard County, Utah | Washington County, Utah | Mohave County, Arizona
Historical Timeline
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1821 until 1846 - Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1846 to 1863 - New Mexico Territory included land that later would become Arizona and southern Nevada.
- In 1852 - New Mexico Territory set up counties that stretched east and west from the Texas border to the California border, including land that became Arizona and southern Nevada. Part of present-day Lincoln County, Nevada was once part of Taos County of New Mexico.[2] [3] There is a small chance that a few records from 1846 to 1863 may have been sent to the Taos County courthouse in New Mexico.
- 29 December 1863 – Arizona's three judicial districts were established by the Arizona Territory Organic Act from the western half of New Mexico Territory.[4] All previous counties were dissolved, and eventually four new counties were created in the new Arizona Territory.
- By November 1864 – Mohave County was created by the Arizona legislature as an original county from parts of the 2nd and 3rd Judicial Districts. A part of the 3rd Judicial District Arizona eventually became part of Lincoln County, Nevada.[4] Some records from 1863 to 1871 may have been sent to the Mohave County, Arizona offices.
- 22 December 1865 – Pah-Ute County was created by Arizona from part of Mohave County.[5] Some records from 1865 to 1871 may have been sent to the Pah-Ute County offices. When part of Pah-Ute County was given to Nevada those records were probably transferred to either Mohave County, Arizona, or to Lincoln or Nye counties in Nevada.
- 18 January 1867 – Pah-Ute County, and Mohave County, Arizona Territory west of the Colorado River and west of 114° west longitude were given to Nevada by the U.S. Congress. This area became the southern part of Lincoln, and Nye counties, and eventually Clark County, in Nevada.[5] In 1871, after many petitions Arizona ceased to claim this land.
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona and Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
Boundary Changes
Lincoln County boundaries were modified on three other occasions. In 1867, a portion of the western edge of Lincoln County was ceded to Nye County. In 1875, the northern boundary was adjusted following the acquisition of the northeast corner of Nye County. But the largest boundary adjustment occurred in the year 1909, when Lincoln County was split in half and Clark County was formed from the southern half.
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- Find A Grave.com has burial information for the following Lincoln County cemeteries: Alamo, Barclay, Bullionville, Caliente City, Castle Family, Conway Veterans Memeorial, Davidson Family, Delmar Catholic, Delmar Helene, Hackett Family, Hiko Area, Hiko, Panaca Memorial Park, Pioche Boot Hill, Pioche Catholic, Pioche Masonic, Pioche Public, Rachel, Richardville, Schofield, Spring Valley, and Woodworth.
- BillionGraves has photos, transcriptions, and Google maps of the following cemeteries: Saint Laurence Catholic Cemetery
| Lincoln County Cemeteries | |||||||||||||||||
| Alamo Cemetery Alamo, Nevada 89001 |
Barclay Cemetery |
Boot Hill Cemetery Pioche, Nevada 89043 | |||||||||||||||
| Bullionville Cemetery Highway 93 |
Caliente City Cemetery Cemetery Road Caliente, Nevada 89008 |
Conways Veteran Memorial Cemetery Cemetery Road Caliente, Nevada 89008 | |||||||||||||||
| Delmar Catholic Cemetery Delmar, Nevada |
Delmar-Helene Cemetery |
Fay Cemetery Deer Lodge Canyon | |||||||||||||||
| Hackett Cemetery Deer Lodge Canyon |
Hiko |
Hollinger-Hammond Cemetery Ursine, Nevada | |||||||||||||||
| I.O.O.F. Cemetery Cemetery Road Caliente, Nevada 89008 |
I.O.O.F. Cemetery Pioche, Nevada 89043 |
Panaca Memorial Cemetery Panaca, Nevada | |||||||||||||||
| Pioche Masonic Cemetery Pioche, Nevada 89043 |
Pioche Public Cemetery Pioche, Nevada 89043 |
Rachel Cemetery Rachel, Nevada | |||||||||||||||
| Richardville Cemetery Richardville, Nevada |
Schofield Cemetery Nevada State Route 318 Hiko, Nevada 89017 |
Spring Valley Cemetery Stateline Canyon, Nevada | |||||||||||||||
| St. Lawrence Catholic Cemetery Pioche, Nevada 89043 |
Ursine Cemetery Ursine, Nevada |
Woodworth Cemetery | |||||||||||||||
Census
Transcriptions of many Lincoln County federal census records are available online as part of The USGenWeb Project. Click on the links below to search a particular census.
1870 Census | 1880 Census | 1880 Mortality Schedules | 1890 Special Census | 1900 Census | 1900 Indian Census
For more information about Nevada census records, see the Nevada Census records page available on the FamilySearch Wiki.
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Alamo
- Caliente
- Panaca
- Pioche
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
- Gillies, Richard E. A History of Lincoln County, Nevada, 1776-1874. Salt Lake city, Utah: University of Utah, 1959.
- Harris, Mary N. Porter. Settlement of Lincoln County and White Pine County, Nevada, by Utah Pioneers. [Salt Lake City, Utah]: Daughters of Utah Pioneers, 2006.
- Hulse, James W., Jean Giguet, and Anna Dean Kepper. Lincoln County: Land of Many Frontiers. [S.l.: s.n.], 1981.
- Hulse, James W. Lincoln County, Nevada, 1864-1909: History of a Mining Region. Reno, Nevada: University of Nevada Press, 1971.
- Roske, Ralph Joseph and Marta Planzo. An Overview of the History of Lincoln County. Las Vegas, Nevada: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 1978.
Land and Property
Lincoln County Courthouse
Recorder/Auditor
181 Main Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
Phone: 775-962-5495
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm; Closed on legal holidays
Record Highlights: Real estate deeds, mortgages, mining deeds and notices, maps, and early vital records (births, marriages, and deaths). Note, only births and deaths prior to 1911 are accessible to the public. Researchers can also access bound volumes of early Lincoln County newspapers, such as the Pioche Daily Record, 1872-1876.
On-site researchers can obtain photocopies of documents from the recorder's office. Photocopying cost have been set at $1.00 per page. Researchers are also allowed to take digital photographs of documents, however, a $1.00 fee is assessed for each photograph taken.
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[6]
- Mormon Trail to Southern California 1847 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California[7]
- Union Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah (among others) to Omaha, Nebraska[8]
Military
Newspapers
- The Lincoln County Record is the official newspaper of Lincoln County. It is published weekly every Thursday. The paper's roots trace back to the early 1870s. Over the course of its history, the paper has been known by several titles: The Ely Record,1870-1872; Pioche Daily Record, 1872-1876; Pioche Weekly Record, 1877-1900; Lincoln County Record, 1900-1905; Pioche Weekly Record, 1906-1908; Pioche Daily Record, 1908-1925; Lincoln County Record, 1925-1932; Pioche Record, 1932-1968; and since 1968, the newspaper has been titled the Lincoln County Record.
Obituaries
- Scott, Patricia A. "Obituaries Published in the Pioche Daily Record, 1872-1878." Database. NVGenWeb.org. Lincoln County Nevada Heritage Collection. http://www.nvgenweb.org/lincoln/PDRobits.txt: 2010.
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Lincoln County Courthouse
181 Main Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
775-962-5390
Hours: M-F 9am-5pm
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1873 [1]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
- Caliente Branch Library
100 Depot Avenue
Caliente, Nevada 89008
Phone: 775-726-3104
- Caliente Branch Library
- Alamo Branch Library
100 South First West
Alamo, Nevada 89001
Phone: 775-725-3343
- Alamo Branch Library
- Lincoln County Library
63 Main Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
Phone: 775-962-5244
Hours: M,T,Th 10am-3pm; W 1pm-6pm
- Lincoln County Library
Museums
- Lincoln County Historical Museum
69 Main Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
Phone: 775-962-5207
Hours: Daily 10am-1pm and 2pm-4pm; Closed major holidays
Admission: Free
- Lincoln County Historical Museum
- Million Dollar Courthouse
25 Lacour Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
Phone: 775-962-5182
Hours: Open April to October 10am-4pm
Admission: Free
- Million Dollar Courthouse
- Record highlights: The museum houses several early original record volumes including tax records, license books, school ledgers, deed indexes, and more. Of particular interest is the grantor/grantee index to Lincoln County Deeds, 1871-1873.
- For a brief history of the "Million Dollar Courthouse," see the Lincoln County Courthouse entry found in the Online Nevada Encyclopedia.
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Over 485 marriages from 22 Jan 1872 to 20 Jun 1900 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.
Death
Websites
- The Lincoln County NV GenWeb Project, a member of The NVGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- Official Website of Lincoln County, Nevada
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
- Ghost Towns: Acoma | Angle City | Atlanta | Barclay | Big Trees | Boyd | Bristol Well | Brown | Bullionville | Carp | Caselton | Cold Spring | Crestline | Crossroads | Crystal Springs | Delmar | Eberhardt | Eccles | Elgin | Etna | Fay | Flat Nose | Galt | Groom Lake | Helene | Horseshoe Bend | Hoya | Indian Cove | Islen | Jackrabbit | Joseco | Kyle | Logan City | Mendha | Mud Springs | Ninemile Rocks | Pony Springs | Prince | Rose Valley | Rox | Stine | Strawberry Hill | Sundown | Tempiute
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Sam P. Davis, editor, The History of Nevada, vol. 1 (Reno, Nevada: Elms Publishing Co., 1913), 212-13.
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- ↑ Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Wikipedia contributors, "1st Arizona Territorial Legislature" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1st_Arizona_Territorial_Legislature (accessed 8 August 2011).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 Wikipedia contriutors, "Pah-Ute County, Arizona" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pah-Ute_County,_Arizona (accessed 8 August 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 17:51.
- This page has been accessed 3,079 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



