Lincoln County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Lincoln County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1778
County Seat Lincolnton
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Lincoln Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse
115 W Main Street P O Box 218
Lincolnton, NC 28093
Phone: 704-736-8534

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1920
and probate records from 1869[1] 

History

Parent County

1778--Lincoln County was created 14 April 1778 from Tryon County. Tryon County was abolished in 1779.
County seat: Lincolnton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Many records are missing, reason unknown. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nclincoln.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Lincoln County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Baptist
  • Catawbo River. Constituted 1785.[3]
Lutheran
  • Daniels Church, near Lincolnton, N.C. Organized 1774.[4]
  • Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church, near Startown, N.C. Organized before 1797.[5] Later located in Catawba County.
  • St. John's Lutheran Church, near Conover, N.C. Organized before 1798.[6] Later located in Catawba County.
  • St. Paul's Lutheran Church, near Conover, N.C. Organized before 1771.[7] Originally located in Tryon County; later located in Catawba County.

Court

Land

  • 1769-present - Deed records available online from the Lincoln County Register of Deeds

Local Histories

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County for European settlers included:[8]

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

-1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
-1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
-11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry,usually known as the Bethel Regiment, Company K
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company K
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Marriages
  • 1851-1869 - Lincoln County Marriage Index 1851-1869. Batch M752092 at FamilySearch - free.[9]

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, North Carolina. Page 510 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:562. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  4. "Daniels Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  5. "Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  6. "St. John's Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  7. "Old St. Paul's Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 9,337 times.