Lincoln County, TennesseeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County


Lincoln County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to Lincoln County (established 1809) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Tennessee
Online Records


Lincoln County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Lincoln County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: November 14, 1809
County Seat Fayetteville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Quick Dates

Lincoln County's civil records start the following years:[1]

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1881 1838  1881  1820 1810  1809 

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse, Fayetteville, Tenn.

Lincoln County Courthouse
P.O. Box 577
112 Main St. South
Fayetteville, TN 37334
Phone: 1-931-433-2454


County Clerk has marriage and probate records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records; Clerk and
Master has court records; Register of Deeds has
land records


Lincoln County Clerk
Marriage records
112 Main Ave. South, Room 102
Fayetteville, TN 37334
Phone: 1-931-433-2454

Lincoln County Clerk and Master
Probate records
112 Main Ave. South, Room B-109
Fayetteville, TN 37334
Phone: 1-931-433-1482

Lincoln County Circuit Court Clerk
Court records
112 Main Ave. South, Room 203
Fayetteville, TN 37334
Phone: 1-931-433-2334

Lincoln County Register of Deeds
112 Main Ave. South, Room 104
Fayetteville, TN 37334
Phone: 1-931-433-5366

Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4 p.m.

History

U.S. Secretary of War Benjamin Lincoln (1733-1810)

Middle Tennessee county in the Chestnut Ridge region. Established 1809.

The county is named after U.S. Secretary of War Benjamin Lincoln (1733-1810).[2]

Parent County

1809--Lincoln County was created 14 November 1809 from Bedford County.
County seat: Fayetteville [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses

  • Lack of marriage records: 1809  to 1837

Although these are not burned records, applying strategies used for burned counties may aid in compensating for their loss. For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Belleview Crystal Springs Hughey Petersburg
Belleville Dellrose Jerusalem Pleasant Grove
Bidwell Douglas Kelso Prospect
Blakeville East Cyruston Kirkland Red Oak
Blanche Egam Liberty Rozells Mill
Bledsoe Elk Mill Village Lincoln Shady Grove
Booneville Elora Lockes Mill Skinem
Boonshill Fayetteville Marys Grove Smithland
Brighton Flintville McBurg Sulphur Springs
Bucks Mill Gattistown Millville Sycamore Swamp
Camargo Gethsemane (hist.) Mimosa Taft
Cash Point Goshen (hist.) Molino Taylortown
Champ Gum Springs Mulberry Three Oaks
Chestnut Ridge Hamilton Hill New Dellrose Vanntown
Coldwater Harms New Hope Wells Hill (hist.)
Corder Crossroads Howell Park City West Cyruston
Creson Howell Hill Pearl City Yukon

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Tnlincoln.png

Getting Started

A good place to start is Byron and Samuel Sistler's Every Name Index to 18 Middle Tennessee County Record Books (Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1992) FHL Collection 976.8 P22sb. It indexes multiple books about Lincoln and nearby Bedford and Giles counties.

Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Lincoln County biography, census, court, marriage, probate, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.

Research Guides

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Tennessee African Americans

Census takers found no free African Americans living in Lincoln County, Tennessee in 1820.[6]

Bible Records

  • Tucker, Mabel Abbott and Waller, Jane Warren. Lincoln County, Tennessee Bible Records. Batavia, Ill.: Lincoln County Tennessee Pioneers, 1972. FHL Collection 976.8624 D29t v. 1-6Free lookups available!
  • [Williams] Williams: Family Bible Records, 1793-1920, Together with Transcripts. MSS. Microfilmed 1984. FHL Collection 1206451 Item 6

Biographies

Cemeteries

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Lincoln County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Lincoln County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]

1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available:

  • Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.

1820

  • __. 1820 Lincoln County, TennesseeS.l.: s.n., 19-?. FHL 976.8 A1 no. 32
  • Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
  • Waller, Jane W. 1820 Census, Lincoln County, Tennessee.Fayetteville, Tennessee: Lincoln County Genealogical Society, 1973. FHL 976.8624 X2w 1820

1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.

The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. A free online index, provided by Lineages, will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. [Covers this county.]

1830

  • __. Tennessee Census, Lincoln Co., 1830.Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974. FHL 954248 Item 3

1840

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

1880

  • Sistler, Byron. 1880 Census Lincoln County, Tennessee.Nashville, Tennessee : Byron Sistler & Associates, 1998. FHL 976.8624 X2s 1880

Church

The organization GSC provides free online indexes to the following Lincoln County church records. They also sell CDs for a reasonable price that contain these W.P.A. abstracts:

  • History of Bethesda Methodist Church
  • History of Church of Christ, Fayetteville, Tenn.
  • History of Methodist Churches, Fayetteville, Tenn., 1831-1890
  • Missionary Baptist Church History, Fayetteville, Tenn., 1879
  • History of Presbyterian Church, Petersberg, Tenn., 1859-1902
  • Prosperity A.R.P. Church History
  • Prosperity Church History
  • Minutes of William Carey Baptist Association, Missionary Baptist Church, 1919
Congregational
Methodist

Providence Methodist Episcopal Church

Shiloh-Taft Methodist Episcopal Church, Taft

Presbyterian

First Presbyterian Church, Fayetteville

Mount Hebron Presbyterian Church, Belleville

Prosperity Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church, Yokon

Court

Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions

  • W.P.A. Lincoln County, Tennessee Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions Minute Book, 1814-1817. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed 1941. FHL US/CAN Film 24744. Free index, available online, thanks to Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a reasonable fee, the company sells Lincoln County CDs, one of which includes a digitized version of this book.

Court Minutes

  • W.P.A. Lincoln County, Tennessee, Minute Docket Book, Volume 1, 1811-1812. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed 1940. FHL US/CAN Film 24743 Item 2. Free index, available online, thanks to Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a reasonable fee, the company sells Lincoln County CDs, one of which includes a digitized version of this book.

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Lincoln County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • [Brown] Multiple descendants of James S. Brown, b. 1780 Rockingham County, Virginia, resident of Lincoln County, Tennessee mid 1820s, resident of McMinn County, Tennessee 1830, d. 1876 DeKalb County, Alabama. Y-DNA 25 and 67 Marker Tests, FTDNA (Kits 39542, 82328). Genetic signatures available online (labeled Group No. 94), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study.

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Lincoln, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 70,000 entries.

Bibliography

  • [Ashby]Metzger, Noveda Ashby Some descendants of Halifax Ashby, Sr. Washington [District of Columbia]: Library of Congress, Photoduplicatoin Service, 1992?] FHL US/CAN film 1843177 Free lookups available!
  • [Denton] Hereford, Kenneth M. and Gray, Leland W. The Hiram King Denton family 19??. Free lookups available!
  • [Dollins] Dollins, John Lewis. Dollins - The Descendants of Hugh A. Dollins (1800-1836), Born Albemarle Co., Virginia, Died Lincoln Co., Tennessee; the Youngest Son of Presley Dollins. Orlando, Fla.: J.L. Dollins, 1983. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D393d.
  • [Duckworth] Smith, Presley. Family History of the Alexander Paidan Duckworth family and related families. Dallas, Texas : P.E. Smith, 1997 FHL book 929.273 D858. Digital version available at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Ellis] Angevine, Erma Miller. Ellis, Taylor and Certain Related Families: Ancestors and Descendants of Clyde Taylor Ellis. Chevy Chase, Md.: C.T. Ellis, 1979. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 4874.
  • [Hines] True, Charles Wesley. Thomas Jefferson Hines and Mary Ross Moores: of Fayetteville, Tennessee then Waxahachie, Texas. Hamilton, Texas: C.W. True, 1995. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H589t.
  • [Jean] Malone, Royleta Clayton. David Jean Sr. of Stokes County, North Carolina and Lincoln County, Tennessee: and Many of His Descendants. Salt Lake City, Utah: R. Malone, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 6433.
  • [King]King, Tom From wagons to spaceships:personal and family history of Thomas Jackson King and his ancestors San Diego, California : T.J.King, c1993. FHL US/CAN book 921.73 K587k Free lookups available!
  • [Little] The Little Family of Lincoln County, Tennessee. [Denver, Colo.: T.S. Little, 198-?]. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 L721Li.
  • [McAlister] Perry, Christine Curlee. McAlister Family of Lincoln County, Tennessee. Typescript, microfilmed in 2000. FHL US/CAN Film 1425264 Item 13.
  • [McKinney] See Young
  • [Reeve] See Rives.
  • [Rives] Rives, Jno. R. T. Green Rives of Dinwiddie County, Virginia and Lincoln County, Tennessee and his Descendants. Birmingham, AL: Printed by A.H. Cather Pub. Co., 1958. Available at Ancestry ($); and Heritage Quest Online ($). Free lookups available!
  • [Shelton] Taylor, Hugh L. and Taylor, Ida Greenhaw Some Early Sheltons: Lincoln County, Tennessee 1972. Free lookups available!
  • [Shelton] Shelton, Frank Harvey Shelton-roots Through Tennessee F.H. Shelton, 1979. Free lookups available!
  • [Smith] Perry, Christine Curlee. Family of John and Mary Clementine Caton Smith of Lincoln County, Tennessee. Typescript, microfilmed in 2000. FHL US/CAN Film 1425264 Item 14.
  • [Spencer] Spencer, Donald and D. William Neal. Spencer Family of Lincoln County, Tennessee. Cullman, Ala.: Gregath, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sp33sd; Supplement: FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sp33sd supp.
  • [Stephens] Stephens, Robert W. Stephens Family History: Ancestry and Descendants of Revolutionary Soldier Robert Stephens and His Wife, Sarah Farmer, of Virginia, Through Their Son Josiah Stephens. Dallas, Texas: R.W. Stephens, c1982. FHL Book 929.273 St45sr.
  • [Turner] Perry, Christine Curlee. Turner Family of Lincoln County, Tennessee. Typescript, microfilmed in 2000. FHL US/CAN Film 1425264 Item 12.
  • [Wallace] Wallace, Richard E. The Children of William Wallace of Lincoln County, Tennessee. [Overland Park, Kansas]: R.E. Wallace, 2001. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W155wre; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Warren] Waller, Jane W. Descendants of Daniel Warren (1788-1876) Lincoln County, Tennessee Waller, 1972. Free lookups available!
  • [Young]Young, Richard Wilson Two less doors to rattle s.n., 1993. Free lookups available!

Immigration

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding 2 British aliens, some of whom had families, living in Fayetteville and Lincoln County.[8]

Land

  • Lincoln County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1810 and is located at the county Courthouse, P.O. Box 577, 112 Main Street South, Fayetteville, Tennessee 37334; (931) 433-2454. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
  • The Family History Library has microfilm copies of land records 181-1887 with a general index 1810-1912; deeds and land grants about 1816-1889.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

The following Lincoln County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Lincoln County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Lincoln County.

Confederate Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Lincoln County:

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Lincoln County click on the following city:

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Lincoln County.]

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:

Ansearchin' News
Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Lincoln County, Tennessee have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
Lincoln County, Tennessee Pioneers
Edited by Jane Warren Waller, Lincoln County, Tennessee Pioneers ran for 26 volumes (1970-1997). A few additional issues were published online in 1997 and 1998. FHL has acquired most volumes: FHL US/CAN Book 976.8624 B2L. Tables of contents are available online, courtesy: Lincoln County, Tennessee Archives (USGenWeb Archives). Free lookups available!
The Lincoln Lineage
"The Lincoln County Genealogical Society is a non-profit society, charted under the laws of the State of Tennessee, for the purpose of preserving and recording family histories and all vital records, providing a genealogical library of Lincoln County, the State of Tennessee and surrounding counties for genealogical research."
The Family History Library has Volume 1 (1998) through the present. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8624 D25L
See Lincoln County Genealogical Society website for further information: http://www.lincolncountytn.com/genealogy/index.htm
The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Lincoln County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2005). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
Volunteer
Published by the Lincoln County Historical Society
P.O. Box 435
Fayetteville, TN
Indexed at the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI) Spring 1977 - Spring 2006

Prisons

Learn if your Lincoln County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!

Probate

The Lincoln County Court and Chancery Court have responsibility for the probate records. Many records are held by the Lincoln County Archives.

FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:

  • Inventories, Wills, 1810-1824
  • Wills, 1827-1850

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Lincoln County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Will Book A: 1809-1824
  2. Will Book 1: 1826-1850
  3. Will Book 2: 1850-1861

The following Lincoln County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:

  • [1809-1824] Ingmire, Frances Terry. Wills, Inventories and Miscellaneous, March 1809 - April 1824. St. Louis, Missouri: F.T. Ingmire, 1984. Indexed. (FHL book 976.8624 P2i.)
  • [1809-1861] Strictly By Name (see above).
  • [1810-1850] W.P.A. Will Books, 1810-1850, Lincoln County, Tennessee. [Includes Inventories 1810-1824] Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed 1940. FHL US/CAN Film 24743 Items 3-5. Free indexes to Wills and Inventories 1810-1824 and Wills 1827-1850, are available online, thanks to Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a reasonable fee, the company sells Lincoln County CDs, one of which includes a digitized version of this book.
  • [1810-1895] Marsh, Helen Crawford and Timothy Richard Marsh. Abstracts of Wills, Lincoln County, Tennessee, 1810-1895. Shelbyville, Tennessee: Marsh Historical Publications, 1977. Indexed. (FHL book 976.8624 P28m.)
  • [1810-1921] Marsh, Helen Crawford and Timothy Richard Marsh. Wills and Inventories of Lincoln County, Tennessee, 1810-1921. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1989. Indexed. (FHL book 976.8624 P2m.)
  • [1810-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.]
  • [1863-1868] McGee, Velma, transcriber; and Russell O'Neal, indexer. Lincoln County, Tennessee: Administrator Settlement Book 1863-1868. Index only. (FHL nook 976.8624 P22m.)
  • [1864-1871] Lincoln County Will Books Vol. 7 1864-1871. Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records. Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
  • [1871-1880] Lincoln County Will Books Vol. 8 1871-1880. Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records. Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
  • [1880-1889] Lincoln County Will Books Vol. 9 1880-1889. Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records. Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
  • [1889-1895] Lincoln County Will Books Vol. 10 1889-1895. Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records. Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.

Taxation

Pre-1900 tax records of Lincoln county are available on microfilm by interlibrary loan from the Tennessee State Library and Archives for years 1829-1833, 1836, 1846-1850, 1865-1867, 1870-1889-1891-1900.

The following Lincoln County tax records have been abstracted:[9]

  • [1810-1811] Tax List, 1810-11, Lincoln County Tennessee Pioneers, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Sep. 1977). For access, see Periodicals.
  • [1811] Tax Collectors, 1811, Volunteer (Fall 1998). For access, seePeriodicals.
  • [1812] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. [Includes 1812 newspaper tax list (Fayetteville only).]
  • [1814] "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3(Fall 1996):115-120. For access, see Periodicals. [Includes Lincoln County.]
  • [1817] "U.S. Holds 1817 Public Sale of Federal Tax-Delinquent Properties in Tennessee," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 2 (Summer 1996):63-68. For access, see Periodicals. [Includes Lincoln County.]
  • [1836] Douthat, James L. Lincoln County, 1836 Tennessee, Civil Districts and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8624 R4d; online: free surname index and purchase details.
  • [1836] Civil Districts and Tax List, 1836, Tennessee Genealogy and History, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Aug. 1998); Vol. 2, No. 3 (Dec. 1998). For access, see Periodicals.
  • [1860] Tax List, 1860, Volunteer (Spring 2002, Fall 2002, Spring 2003, Fall 2003, Spring 2004, Fall 2004, Spring 2005). For access, see Periodicals.
  • [1868] Taxpayers, 1868, Lincoln County Tennessee Pioneers, Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan. 1981). For access, see Periodicals.
  • [1870] Tax List District 1, 1870, Lincoln County Tennessee Pioneers, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Jun. 1978). For access, see Periodicals.
  • [1880] List of Privileges, 1880, Lincoln County Tennessee Pioneers, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Jun. 1978). For access, see Periodicals.

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

Birth
Marriage

The original Lincoln County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. Marriages were not officially recorded in Lincoln County until 1838, when a law was passed mandating the practice.[10] The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:

  • Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2L.

The following Lincoln County marriage records are microfilmed:

  • 1838-1987 - Available at the TSLA. Marriages 1838-1890 are available for interlibrary loan.
  • 1888-1898 - TSLA. Marriage bonds.
  • 1834-1954 - Available at the Family History Library. Chandery Court licenses and bonds; index in first 2 films.FHL 2138561
  • 1838-1969 - Marriage Records. Indexes in each volume.First film in group is 1888-1898 marriage bonds. FHL 968562

The following Lincoln County marriage records have been indexed:

  • 1838-1895 - Lincoln County Marriage Index 1838-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[7]
  • 1838-1866 - W.P.A. Marriage Records, 1838-1860, Lincoln County, Tennessee.  Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1940.  Typescript. FHL 24743 Item 1. Free index, available online, thanks to Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a reasonable fee, the company sells Lincoln County CDs, one of which includes a digitized version of this book.
  • 1838-1880 - Marsh, Helen C. and Timothy R. Marsh. Lincoln County, Tennessee Official Marriage Records, 1838-1880 : Compiled from Original Marriage Licenses and Bonds, Family Records and Newspaper Accounts. Shelbyville, Tennessee: Marsh Historical Publications, 1974. FHL 976.8624 V25m
  • 1838-1871 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1988. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 2 ff. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
  • 1838-1843 - Waller, Jane W. and Polly L. Murphy. Marriage Records of Lincoln Co., Tennessee, 1838-1843. Batavia, Illinois: J. W. Waller, 1986. FHL 976.8624 V2w
  • 1911-1920 - Casey, Joe M. and Jewel D. Marriage records of Lincoln County, Tennessee 1911-1920. Tullahoma, Tennessee: J & J Pub., 1995-1996. FHL 976.8624 V2c 3 Vols. Free lookups available!
  • Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
  • Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. ($)  Be aware that this index is not complete for many counties.
Divorce

In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Lincoln County divorce papers in diverse County Courthouse records, see:

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death

For deaths of Methodists in Lincoln County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Tennessee Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Lincoln County Genealogical Society
1508 West Washington St.
Fayetteville, TN 37334
Hours: Weekends from 1 p.m.-5 p.m.

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Lincoln County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Fayetteville-Lincoln County Public Library
400 Rocky Knob Lane
Fayetteville, TN 37334
Phone: 1-931-433-3286

Family History Centers

40 Hilltop Rd Fayetteville
Lincoln, Tennessee, United States
Phone: 1-931-433-6296

This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.


Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Lincoln County, Tennessee

References

  1. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  2. "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 641. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. *Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website.
  7. 7.00 7.01 7.02 7.03 7.04 7.05 7.06 7.07 7.08 7.09 7.10 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/88/Igitennesseel.pdf.
  8. Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 372-378 (see West Tennessee). FHL US/CAN 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  9. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  10. Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL US/CAN Book 973 B2ng v. 81 (1993)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:48.
  • This page has been accessed 35,490 times.