Lincoln County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lincoln County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png West Virginia  Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Lincoln County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 23, 1867
County Seat Hamlin
Courthouse
Lincoln County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
8000 Court Avenue
Hamlin, WV 25523
Phone: 304-824-3336
Lincoln County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate and land records from 1909[1]

History

Lincoln County, West Virginia Origins

Parent County

1867--Lincoln County was created 23 February 1867 from Boone, Cabell, Kanawha and Putnam Counties.
County seat: Hamlin [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

1909--The court house burned down with all the records except for some land records recorded later. For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places / Localities

Populated Places

Hars Area Lincoln County West Virginia

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvlincoln.jpg

Cemeteries

Lincoln County Tombstone Transcription Project Lincoln County Find A Grave Lincoln County Tombstone Photos Lincoln County, West Virginia Political Graveyard.com Lincoln County, West Virginia Funeral Homes

Census

For tips on accessing Lincoln County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census

Lincoln County, West Virginia 1870 Federal Census Index

 

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Lincoln County, West Virginia Maps

Trails Rus West Virginia map

Lincoln County, West Virginia Topical Maps

Military

Civil War

West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865

Naturalization

West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991

Newspapers

Lincoln County, West Virginia Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Genealogical Societies

Lincoln County Genealogical Society
7999 Lynn Avenue
Hamlin, WV 25523 Lincoln County Genealogical Society Hamlin Lincoln County West Virginia Public Library Alum Creek Public Library, Lincoln County, West Virginia

Family History Centers

The closest family history centers are the Huntington Family History Center and the Charleston Family History Center.

Web Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.




 Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 12,847 times.