Lincoln County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lincoln County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Lincoln County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 4, 1874
County Seat Merrill
Courthouse
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
1110 E Main Street
Merrill, WI 54452-2554
Phone. 715.536,0312

WI Lincoln.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse
1110 E Main Street
Merrill, WI 54452-2554
Phone. 715.536,0312

Register of Deeds has marriage and land records;
Register in Probate has probate records;
Clerk Court has court records[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1874--Lincoln County was created 4 March 1874 from Marathon County. County seat: Merrill [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Merrill, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Lincoln County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 3,395 times.