Lindfield, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Lindfield, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lindfield, Sussex
All Saints Lindfield West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burleigh Arches (Burarches); Street
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield PLU
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LINDFIELD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Burleigh-Arches, or Burarches, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 3¾ miles (E. by N.) from Cuckfield; There is a place of worship for Independents; also a school of industry, founded by William Allen, Esq., of London, for the instruction of children in the art of agriculture, and in various trades.[1]

Lindfield All Saints is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex.Other places in the parish include: Lunt, Gravelys, Townsland, Wickham, Scaynes Hill, Buxshalls, Walsted, Scrace Bridge, and Beadle Hill.

history of Lindfield All Saints

The parish church of All Saints has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Lindfield Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Scaynes Hill was part of this parish until 1930 the school room/chapel formed Scaynes Hill St Augustine church history is available at Sussex Parish Churches. Scaynes Hill Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship in Scaynes Hill include

Scaynes Hill Strict Baptist Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

list of places of worship in Mid Sussex

See also Lindfield WikipediaScaynes Hill Wikipediaand A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 87-95. 1848 Gazetteer

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN 01243 642122

Church records

Lindfield, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
Lindfield, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Lindfield All Saints

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1558-1974 Marr 1559-1960 Bur 1559-1929 Bishop's Transcripts 1662-1894

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Lindfield

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place

Web sites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Lindfield/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 87-95. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2014, at 20:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,200 times.