Linn County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Linn County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Linn County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Linn County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Linn County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 30, 1855
County Seat Mound City
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Linn County Courthouse
P.O. Box B
Mound City, Kansas 66056-0601
Phone: 913.795.2668


Contents

County Courthouse

Linn County Courthouse
PO Box B;
Mound City, KS 66056-0601
Phone: 913.795.2668

Clerk District Court has probate and court records from 1855.
Register of Deeds has land records and military records from 1900.
County Library/Museum has birth, marriage, and death records from 1855,
divorce records, cemetery records from 1910,
military records 1861-1865 and newspapers from 1864. [1]

History

Parent County

1855--Linn County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Mound City [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Kslinn.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Linn County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battles

The following Civil War battles were fought in Linn County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Kansas.

During the Civil War men from this county enlisted in the 2nd Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Company I; 2nd Regiment, Kansas Militia Infantry, Company F; 6th Regiment, Kansas Militia Infantry, Company K; 7th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Companies B and G; 11th Regiment, Kansas Infantry, Company A; 12 Regiment, Kansas Militia Infantry, Company K;  15th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Company M.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Linn County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Linn and click Probate records.

Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers