Linn County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Linn County

Guide to Linn County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Linn County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Linn County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 28, 1847
County Seat Albany
Courthouse
Address Linn County Courthouse
300 4th Ave SW
PO Box 100
Albany, OR 97321
Phone: 541.967.3831
Linn County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1850,
divorce, probate, and court records from 1854
and military  enumeration from 1905. [1]


 

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Linn County, Oregon

28 December 1847: Linn county was created from Champoeg County . Named for U.S. Senator Lewis F. Linn of Missouri. [2]

Boundary Changes

Parts were taken for

  • 11 January 1854: Part taken for Wasco county

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Albany | Brownsville | Gates | Halsey | Harrisburg | Idanha | Lebanon | Lyons | Mill City | Millersburg | Scio | Sodaville | Sweet Home | Tangent | Waterloo

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Cascadia | Crabtree | Crawfordsville | Foster | Jordan | Marion Forks | Riverside | Santiam Junction | Shedd

Discontinued Post Offices

Abberdeen |

Neighboring Counties

Benton | Deschutes | Jefferson | Lane | Marion | Polk

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries (Rural)

Census

  • 1850
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1905 State Transcription
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Deed Records

Maps

Orlinn.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some county records as following:

Linn County records of deaths 1903-1915, 1915-1947 (the cover title of this one is "Register of Physicians, Midwives and Undertakers", death certificates 1903-1947, coroner's inquest 1909-1960, index 1909-1960.

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Webites

Linn County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Linn County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FamilySearch Catalog Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:50.
  • This page has been accessed 4,589 times.