Liskeard, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Liskeard, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Liskeard, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Liskeard PLU
Registration District Liskeard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery West
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LISKEARD (St. Martin), a borough, markettown, and parish, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of West, E. division of Cornwall. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Association Methodists. [1]

Liskeard St Martin is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Cornwall.
Other places in the parish include: Dobwalls, Dubwalls, Greenbank, Halbathic, Liskeard Borough, and Trewidland.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Liskeard, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
Liskeard, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1597-1665

COPC 1669-1830, 1893-1911
1539-1837, 1876-1911
1669-1938
FMP 1691-1840 1539-1837 1813-1837
FREG
1876-1906

IGI 1691-1773
TGEN 1669-1840


Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 126

Liskeard Society of Friends transcript of Marriages 1659-1837 also appears online. The typed transcript is of Quaker marriages in the Liskeard and St Germans are in records of the Cornwall Record Office.

Penharget Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Penharget Chapel Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1827-1831

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Liskeard.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241274.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Liskeard Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Liskeard in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 98-101. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,070 times.