Little Berkhampstead, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes Guide to Little Berkhampstead, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Berkhampstead, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hertford
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hertford PLU
Registration District Hertford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1647
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hertford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Little Berkhampstead or Berkhampstead, Little (St. Andrew), is a parish, in the union, hundred, and county of Hertford, 4 3/4 (S.W. by S.) from Hertford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resource

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Berkhampstead, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
LITTLE BERKHAMPSTEAD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1875-1900


BOYD
1609-1812

FMP 1647-1900 1647-1900 1647-1901 1647-1901 1647-1915 1647-1915
FREG
1609-1812

HERTS To 1837
IGI 1604-1875 1605-1608, 1647-1837
JOIN
1610-1837

NBI

1800-1851
PALL
1800-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288831.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Berkhampstead on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 20 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  5. 'Hertfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  8. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 678 times.