Little Budworth, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Little Budworth, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Budworth, Cheshire
Little Budworth St Peter Cheshire.jpg
Little Budworth St Peter Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BUDWORTH, LITTLE, (St. Peter), is a parish, in the union of Northwich, the first division of the hundred of Eddisbury, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 3¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Tarporley. This place is also called Budworth in the Frith, and Little Budworth cum Oulton. The church belonged previously to the Dissolution to St. Mary's nunnery, Chester, and was called a free chapel within the parish of Over.[1]

Little Budworth St Peter's is an Ancient parish in Cheshire.

St Peter's Church, Little Budworth is in the village of Little Budworth, Cheshire, England . It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Middlewich. Its benefice is combined with that of St Mary, Whitegate. The church stands on the highest point in the village and its tower dominates views of the area.

Little Budworth is a civil parish and village between Winsford and Chester, in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

The village is about 3 miles from Winsford and Tarporley, 14 miles to Chester City Center, 8 miles to Northwich and 17 miles to Warrington with nearby rail connection along the Mid-Cheshire Line set in rolling English countryside and forest.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241236.

Church records

Little Budworth St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcript
Little Budworth St Peter Parish (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1562-1909
  NONE
1562-1934
  NONE
1562-1875
  NONE
FS BT'S 1576-1897   NONE
1576-1852
  NONE
1576-1897
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Little Budworth, 1561-1966 Cheshire Record Office call reference: P36/1/1-5, P36/7.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical  Records

Parish Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1561-1595 BRITISH 2105799 Item 11
Baptisms, 1595-1747, 1813-1921. Marriages, 1595-1837. Marriage banns, 1845-1945. Burials, 1595-1875. BRITISH 2105800 Items 1 - 11
Marriage licences, 1814, 1902, 1942-1966. BRITISH 2105800 Item 13

Bishop's transcripts for Little Budworth, 1576-1897 Early entries in Latin.
Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB/128.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop’s Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptism, marriages, burials, 1576, 1586, 1604, 1607-1608, 1613-1615, 1629, 1631, 1633-1637, 1639, 1658-1661, 1664-1666, 1670-1676, 1679-1685, 1688-1697, 1699-1732, 1734-1823, 1825-1827, 1831-1837, 1846-1852. Baptism, burials, 1824, 1828-1830, 1838-1840, 1853-1897. BRITISH
1656843 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches

Little Budworth, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1888.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 176 

LITTLE BUDWORTH CHAPEL Date 1888-1924 Description Trustees' records book  The chapel was built by the Wesleyan Methodists in 1888 Extent 1 vol

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Northwich (1837–1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Budworth on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 197–199

Hubbard, Edward (1991). The Work of John Douglas. London: The Victorian Society. p. 139. ISBN 0 901657 16 6.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 15:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,876 times.