Little CrosbyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Little Crosby, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

Great Crosby a township with a district chapel called St Luke was built by at least 1749, and stood in the parish of Sefton, union and hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 7¾ miles north by west of Liverpool. A Roman Catholic chapel was built in Little Crosby, was dedicated to the Blessed Virgin or St Mary's, was erected by 1801 and rebuilt in 1847.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two powerful Internet sites with name lists or indexes:

  1. FreeBMD - over 250 million entries for births, marriages and deaths
  2. LancashireBMD - contains births marriages and deaths for Lancashire (only)

Church records

Online Records

Online transcriptions exist for Great (Little) Crosby Chapelry registers as well as for Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas' baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
GREAT CROSBY ST LUKE Chapelry (1749) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1749-1869 None None
LOPC 1749-1764, 1797-1869 None 1854-1869
LBMD 1837-1905 None None
SEFTON ST HELEN PARISH (1597) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS


LOPC 1597-1780, 1783-1856 1600-1783, 1813-1884 1783-1899
LBMD None 1837-1950 None
FMP None 1657-1775 None
AC 1597-1783 1597-1783 1597-1783
FREG None None None
SEAFORTH ST THOMAS Chapelry (1839) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS

None
LOPC 1839-1937 1870-1939 None
LBMD None 1870-1950 None
WATERLOO CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1870-1950 None

To view a full list for Liverpool's Parishes, (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiastical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.

Original Records

Great Crosby Chapelry (parish) registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office. These registers have also been microfilmed by FamilySearch and they are available through its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Courtesy of Anna Rosemary Tumilty Website for this Parish:

Transcribed by Eileen Hunt of Ontario, Canada:

Transcribed by John Quick

A comparison between the Parish Registers of Little Crosby and St. Helen's, Sefton Parish Church

Little Crosby Tombstone Records done by Anna Rosemary Tumilty, note you need to scroll down on her site to view the list done in sections.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306905.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 733-737. Adapted. Date accessed: 29 June 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 2,898 times.