Little Glemham, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes Gotoarrow.pngGreat Glemham

Little Glemham, Suffolk
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plomesgate
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Plomesgate PLU
Registration District Plomesgate
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Little Glemham beginning 1550
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698; Separate records exist for Little Glemham beginning 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Orford
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GLEMHAM, LITTLE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Plomesgate, E. division of Suffolk, 3 miles (N. E. by E.) from Wickham-Market.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Little Glemham was in Plomesgate district. To search an index of Plomesgate district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Little Glemham, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Little Glemham, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1814-1835
BOYD
1550-1753

FREG 1813-1858
1755-1835
1814-1858
IGI 1813-1867 (gaps)
1814-1837; 1844 (gaps)

NBI

1551-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Little Glemham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Little Glemham, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 25 March 2013
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,054 times.