Little Hadham, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Little Hadham, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Hadham, Hertfordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edwinstree
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Bishop’s Stortford PLU
Registration District Bishop Stortford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; For more records see Much Hadham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bishop's Stortford
Diocese Pre-1845 - London; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Little Hadham, is a village and a parish in Bishop Stortford district, Hertfordshire. The village stands on the river Ash, it is near the boundary with Essex, it is 3 miles WNW of Bishop Stortford town and railway station. It includes the hamlets of Bury Green and Green Street.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Hadham, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
LITTLE HADHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1559-1812
1560-1812

FMP 1559-1901 1559-1901 1560-1901 1560-1901 1561-1902 1561-1902
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1559-1871 1559-1837
JOIN
1560-1837

NBI

1800-1851
PALL
1790-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288830.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Hadham on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  4. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  6. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 934 times.