Little Hereford, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Little Hereford, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Hereford, Herefordshire
Little Hereford St Mary Magdalene Herefordshire.JPG
Little Hereford St Mary Magdalene Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wolphy
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Tenbury PLU
Registration District Tenbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1725
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leominster
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of the Choir of the Cathedral in Little Hereford and Ashford Carbonell
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEREFORD, LITTLE (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Tenbury, hundred of Wolphy, county of Hereford, 3 miles (W.) from Tenbury. The parish is situated on the borders of Salop and Worcestershire, by which it is nearly surrounded, the former county bounding it on the west, north, and east, and the latter partly on the south. It is intersected by the river Teme, and the road between Tenbury and Ludlow. The Leominster canal also passes through.[1]

Little Hereford St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient parish and includes Upton and Dirty Middleton.

The church dates from the 12th century and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage. British Listed building

The parish boundary forms part of the northern Herefordshire county boudary with both Shropshire and Worcestershire. 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Little Hereford

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288822.

See Herefordshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Hereford

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 482-491. Accessed and adapted 8 March, 2013

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 14:50.
  • This page has been accessed 850 times.