Little Hulton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Little Hulton, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Hulton, Lancashire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bolton PLU
Registration District Bolton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1876; For more records see Deane
Bishop's Transcripts: 1772
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolton le Moors
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HULTON, LITTLE, or Peel Chapel, was a chapelry, in the parish of Deane, union of Bolton, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 4½ miles south of Bolton. The chapel, dedicated to St Paul, was consecrated in 1760. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Little Hulton (Peel) chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Deane to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LITTLE HULTON (PEEL) CHAPELRY (1760) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1861-1914 1876-1930
FS 1760-1846; 1861-1894 None 1795-1796, 1875-1902
LOPC 1760-1884 1850-1959 1768-1978
DEANE PARISH ST MARY THE VIRGIN (1636) Indexes(ancient parish containing LITTLE HULTON (PEEL) Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1829 1604- 1812 None
LOPC 1604-1750  1604-1750; 1837-1890 1604-1684; 1813-1887
AC 1613-1750 1613-1750 None
LBMD 1837-1992


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Little Hulton (Peel) and comprising the whole ancient parish of Deane to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DEANE ST MARY PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306925.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 580-583. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,511 times.