Little Leigh, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Little Leigh

Guide to Little Leigh, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael's and All Angels, Little Leigh Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

LEIGH (LITTLE), is a village, a township, and a chapelry in Great Bedworth parish, Cheshire. The village stands near the Grand Trunk canal and the river Weaver, 3½ miles NW of Northwich railway station. The chapelry includes also the townships of Dutton and Bartington; and was constituted in 1833. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]

Little Leigh, St Michael and All Angels was formerly a chapel in the Ancient parish of Great Budworth, Cheshire including Bartington, Little Leigh and part of Dutton.

The present church was built in 1879 to a design by Edmund Kirby. Before the church was built the chapel [from the 1770's] stood in what is now the churchyard.

Reredos in St Michaels and All Angels, Little Leigh .jpg

St Michael and All Angels Church, Little Leigh is in the village of Little Leigh, Cheshire, England. The church is a Grade II listed building. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Great Budworth.

Little Leigh is a civil parish and village within the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. It is located approximately 2 miles north of Weaverham on the A533 road.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church records

Little Leigh St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Little Leigh St Michael and All Angels Parish (1782) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1782-1909
  NONE
1844-1934
  NONE
1841-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1813-1864   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1842-1864
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for the chapelry of Little Leigh, 1782-1983 Little Leigh was a chapelry in the parish of Great Budworth and a parish from 1866

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1782-1937. Marriages, 1844-1847. Banns, 1844-1956. Burials, 1841-1915. BRITISH 1656403 Items 2 - 8
Marriages, 1847-1983 BRITISH 2045911 Item 3
Marriages, 1847-1983. BRITISH 2069091 Item 3
Burials, 1915-1982. Graves, 1920-1959. BRITISH 2147302 Items 5 - 6

Bishop's transcripts for Little Leigh, 1813-1864 Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 128

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1813-1840, 1853, 1855. Baptisms, burials, 1841-1845, 1847-1852, 1854, 1856, 1858-1864. BRITISH 1647518 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

Little Leigh, Baptist Chapel.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Northwich (1837–1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 255, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,437 times.