Little Marlow, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Little Marlow, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Desborough
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Wycombe PLU
Registration District Wycombe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wycombe
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARLOW (LITTLE), a parish in Wycombe district, Bucks; adjacent to the Thames, 2 miles W.NW of Marlow-Road r. station and 4 S by E of High Wycombe.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Marlow, Buckinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Little Marlow, Buckinghamshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1559-1850


Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241216.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Marlow on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-1872 Date accessed and adapted 20 June 2013.
  2. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2014, at 20:41.
  • This page has been accessed 869 times.