Little Mongeham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Little Mongeham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Mongeham, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cornilo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Sutton by Dover
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Little Mongeham is a hamlet in the Dover district of Kent, see Little Mongeham Wikipedia

The Ancient Parish of Little Mongeham lost it's parish church to ruin in the 18th century.

Edward Hasted in his 1800 History and Topographical Survey of Kent describes the Domesday Survey entry which refers to the church and manor which he says was ruined by 1800. The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 579-583 at British History Online

The parish was absorbed by Sutton by Dover, Kent parish; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

MONGEHAM, LITTLE, a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3½ miles (W. S. W.) from the town of Deal. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film numbers
Mongeham, Little contains Archdeacon's transcripts, 1558-1812; Bishop's transcripts, 1611-1900 for Sutton by Dover, Kent and land tax assessment records only.
Original records housed at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives, The Precinct, Canterbury, Kent.

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Land Tax

Images for Little Mongeham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Little Mongeham Census returns 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 333-334. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,714 times.