Littleborough, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Littleborough, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Littleborough, Lancashire
Littleborough Holy Trinity contributor David Dixon.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Rochdale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1787
Bishop's Transcripts: 1758
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

LITTLEBOROUGH, a parochial chapelry, in the parish and union of Rochdale, hundred of Salford,S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3½ miles (N. E.by E.) from Rochdale. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans, and another for Association Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Littleborough chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LITTLEBOROUGH HOLY TRINITY CHAPELRY (1741) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1758-1812 1758-1812 1758-1812
AC 1813-1914 1838-1930
FS 1715-1758; 1840-1904 None  None
LBMD None 1838-1935 None

ROCHDALE ST CHAD(ancient parish containing LITTLEBOROUGH Chapelry)

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Littleborough and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Bishop's transcripts for Littleborough, 1758-1844 Bishop's transcripts from the chapelry of Littleborough (Holy Trinity) in the township of Blatchinworth, parish of Rochdale, Lancashire. Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/293-294

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1758-1800; burials, 1794-1800.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545798 Item 4
Baptisms and burials, 1801-1844.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545799 Items 1 - 2

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks Project

http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Littleborough/index.html is an excellent resource for the parish

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306933.


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

An extremely useful local history website http://www.todmordenandwalsden.co.uk/ for the area has information about the parish and images of memorial inscriptions of the graveyard.

http://www.rochdaleonline.co.uk/sites/holy-trinity-littleborough for information about the parish

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53034 British History Online Blatchinworth

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 101-104. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 3,215 times.