Littlebourne, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Littlebourne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Littlebourne, Kent
Littlebourne St Vincent Kent.jpg
Littlebourne St Vincent Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Downhamford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LITTLEBOURNE (St. Vincent), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Downhamford, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 4 miles (E.) from Canterbury. There is a place of worship for Calvinists.[1]


Littlebourne is a village and civil parish in the City of Canterbury district of Kent, see Littlebourne Wikipedia

Littlebourne St Vincent is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you The Littlebourne benefice includes Ickham, Kent Wickhambreaux, Kent and Stodmarsh, Kent

The church of St Vincent, Narborne Close, Littlebourne, has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Kent Churches website

A Calvanist church was also in the village.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Littlebourne, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
Littlebourne, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1912 1558-1912 1872-1912 (Banns) 1872-1912 (Banns) 1559-1928 1559-1928
FSBOOK

1678-1688, 1721

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Littlebourne are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306862.


[1] 

Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 101-104. Date accessee: 19 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,799 times.