Littlehampton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Littlehampton, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Littlehampton, Sussex
St Mary Littlehampton West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Poling
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1611
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LITTLEHAMPTON, a town and parish, in the hundred of Poling, rape of Arundel, county of Sussex, 4 miles (S.) from Arundel, and 61 (S. S. W.) from London.[1]


Littlehampton St Mary is an Ancient Parish and town in the Arun district of West Sussex.

The history of the church, the third on the site, is found here

The church of St Mary has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building

Littlehampton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See: List of places of worship in Arun which includes non-conformist places of worship in the town and List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 101-104. here

The development of subsequent parishes from this one is described here

The chapelry at Littlehampton All Saints Wick did not become a parish until 1973 see Littlehampton All Saints Wick

From this parish were formed:

Littlehampton St John 1876 closed 1948 demolished 1976 after use as a theatre Littlehampton St John

Littlehampton St James mission church 1899 see Littlehampton St James

Wick Primitive Methodist Chapel see List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Littlehampton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Littlehampton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1655-1753

IGI 1584-1876 1587-1876

Littlehampton St Mary

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1611-1946 Marr 1611-1952 Bur 1611-1953

Bishop's Transcripts 1591-1892

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Littlehampton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Littlehampton/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 101-104. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,690 times.