Littleton, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Littleton, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

LITTLETON (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Staines, hundred of Spelthorne, county of Middlesex, 2 miles (N. E. by E.) from Chertsey.[1]

The Victoria County History of Littleton (1911) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Littleton Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1579
1564
.
Indexes 1579-1679 FamilySearch[3] 1564-1652 FamilySearch[4]
1579-1876 BritishOrigins[5] 1564-1835 findmypast[6]
1579-1652 AncestorsatRest 1564-1837 BritishOrigins[7]
1564-1652 AncestorsatRest
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[8]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438825.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Littleton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118. Accessed and adapted 22 January, 2014.
  2. 'Spelthorne Hundred: Littleton', A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 2: General; Ashford, East Bedfont with Hatton, Feltham, Hampton with Hampton Wick, Hanworth, Laleham, Littleton (1911), pp. 401-406. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=22216 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.
  3. Batch P013271, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  4. Batch M013271, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  5. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  6. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  7. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  8. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 3,396 times.