Liverpool All Saints, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Liverpool All Saints, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Liverpool All Saints, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Liverpool
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Liverpool PLU
Registration District Liverpool
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1835
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool North
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

LIVERPOOL (All Saints) was a chapelry built in the year 1845 and stood within the civil parish boundaries of Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas. It was located on Great Nelson Street. The church records from 1847-1961 when the church was demolished are deposited at the Liverpool Record Office. The parish merged with St Ambrose.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

There are online transcriptions for Liverpool All Saints Chapel registers as well as for many of Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas, and the baptism, marriage and burial registers of many of its numerous chapelries lying within its boundaries. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LIVERPOOL ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1815) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1847-1906 1815-1921 1756-1919
LOPC 1835-1838 1876-1906 1835-1838
LBMD 1849-1936 None
LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1894 1604-1911  1779-1787;1809-1825
LOPC 1776-1865 1788-1838 1776-1854
LBMD None 1837-1939 None
AC  1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812

To view a full list for all of Liverpool St Nicholas Parish’s (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiasitical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.


Original Records

Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office, William Brown Street, Liverpool L3 8EW, United Kingdom.

FamilySearch has microfilmed the original Liverpool All Saints chapel registers. These registers are mostly available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. and its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide. These films may be ordered for and original baptism, marriage and burial entries may be viewed at these centers. Include below is information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438717.


Poor Law Unions

Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,707 times.