Liverpool St Bartholomew, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Liverpool St Bartholomew, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Liverpool St Bartholomew, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Liverpool
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Liverpool PLU
Registration District Liverpool
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool North
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

LIVERPOOL (St Bartholomew) was a chapelry created in the year 1841 and stood within the civil parish boundaries of St Nicholas Liverpool. It is a neat stone edifice in the early English style, with an hexagonal tower and a spire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Liverpool St Bartholomew chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


LIVERPOOL ST BARTHOLOMEW  Chapelry (1841) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1894 None None
LOPC 1841-1929 1843-1922 None
LBMD None 1843-1935 None
LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS'''PARISH (1604) Indexes(ancient parish containing LIVERPOOL ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1894 1604-1911  1779-1787;1809-1825
LOPC 1776-1865 1788-1838 1776-1854
LBMD None 1837-1939 None
AC  1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Liverpool St Bartholomew and comprising the whole ancient parish of Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LIVERPOOL ST PETER AND ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438717.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118. Date accessed: 3 Sep 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,153 times.