Liverpool St George, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Liverpool St George, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Liverpool St George, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Liverpool
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Liverpool PLU
Registration District Liverpool
Records begin
Parish registers: 1734
Bishop's Transcripts: 1734
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool South
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

LIVERPOOL (St. George), Derby Square was erected on the old site of the castle in the year 1734. It was created in 1736 from and lying within the boundaries of Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas. The church was owned and maintained by the City Council and was used for worship by the mayor, aldermen and judiciary of the city. However the 1867 appointment of a Jewish mayor was criticised from the pulpit and thereafter the city council ceased to use the church which declined and was closed in 1897 and subsequently demolished. The Victoria monument now occupies the site of the former church and was built in 1902.[1]

On March 5, 1704 the burgesses obtained a lease for the castle and its site from the Crown for fifty years. Lord Molyneux disputed this as he still claimed hereditary constableship. This delayed the settlement of the lease until 1726, when the last remaining ruins of the castle were removed. Construction began in 1726 to the architect Thomas Steer's design and was completed in 1734. A vault beneath the church and a churchyard provided for burials.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Online transcriptions exist for Liverpool St George Chapel registers as well as for Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas' baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LIVERPOOL ST GEORGE Chapelry (1734) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1734-1880 1734-1838 None
LOPC 1797-1813 1760-1898 1813-1865
LBMD None 1837-1935 None
UGK 1856-1905 1856-1905
JOIN None 1813-1837 None
AC 1734-1812 1734-1812 1734-1812
LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1894 1604-1911 1779-1787;1809-1825
LOPC 1776-1865 1788-1838 1776-1854
LBMD None 1837-1939 None
AC 1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812

To view a full list for all of Liverpool Parish’s (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiastical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.

Original Records

Liverpool St George Chapelry (parish) registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office. These registers have also been microfilmed by FamilySearch and they are available through its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438714.


Poor Law Unions

Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118. Date accessed: 3 Sep 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,947 times.