Liverpool St John, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Liverpool St John, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Liverpool St John, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Liverpool
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Liverpool PLU
Registration District Liverpool
Records begin
Parish registers: 1767
Bishop's Transcripts: 1773
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool South
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

LIVERPOOL (St John) on Old Haymarket was built as a chapel of ease within the civil parish boundaries of St Nicholas Liverpool. It was erected in 1784. St John's Gardens is a memorial park in Liverpool, England, located behind St George's Hall. It takes its name from St John's Church which stood on the site from 1783 until 1887. The churchyard is a most significant place in the city's history. In the year it was completed, St John’s served one of the most crowded and poorest areas of the city. St John's churchyard was closed for burials on 11th June 1865, 82,491 bodies having been interred in the grounds. St John's Church was closed under the terms of the Liverpool City Churches Act 1897. The records of this church indicate Liverpool's Black History as many entries refer either to mariners or slaves with references to Africa West indies and Guyana.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions exist for Liverpool St John (Haymarket) Chapel registers as well as for Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas' baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LIVERPOOL ST JOHN Chapelry (1784) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1785-1894 1785-1841  None
LOPC 1785-1898 1813-1840 1767-1786;1843-1865
LBMD None 1837-1935 None
LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1894 1604-1911  1779-1787;1809-1825
LOPC 1776-1865 1788-1838 1776-1854
LBMD None 1837-1939 None
AC  1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812

To view a full list for all of Liverpool Parish’s (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiastical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.

Original Records

Liverpool St John Chapelry (parish) registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office. Deposited registers Liverpool Record Office Ref No 283 JOH
Early Registers 1767 - 1812
Baptism Registers 1813 - 1898
Marriage Registers 1785 - 1898
Burial Registers 1813 - 1865
Banns Registers 1858 - 1866
Grave Register 19th century

Bishop's transcripts for St. John's Church, Liverpool Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Lancashire Record Office: DRL 2/131-159 These registers have also been microfilmed by FamilySearch and they are available through its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide. They are available as follows:

Burials, 1773-1780. FHL BRITISH Film 1068946 Item 5
Burials, 1781-1806, baptisms, 1783-1806; marriages, 1785-1806. FHL BRITISH Film 1068947
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1808-1819. FHL BRITISH Film 1068948
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1820-1829. FHL BRITISH Film 1068949
Baptisms and burials, 1830-1852, marriages, 1830-1841. FHL BRITISH Film 1068950

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438717.



Poor Law Unions

Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118. Adapted. Date accessed: 02 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,841 times.