Liverpool St Thomas, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Liverpool St Thomas, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

LIVERPOOL (St Thomas) church in Parklane, built under the authority of an act passed in the 21st of George II., and consecrated in 1750. This chapel stood within the civil parish of St Peter and Nicholas Liverpool.[1]

The area to the South and East of the Old Dock of Liverpool and was built to serve the needs of the families who lived nearby and who worked in the dock. The area rapidly changed and as the residents began to become largely Roman Catholic, the Diocese was forced to consider closure. By 1900 sixty five per cent of the population of the parish was estimated to be Roman Catholic and in 1903 The Bishop of Liverpool's Commission to enquire into the spiritual needs of the Diocese recommended the closure of St. Thomas' Church. The Liverpool and Wigan Churches Act, 1904 confirmed this recommendation and the church was closed on 31 December 1905. The parish was absorbed into that of St. Michael, Upper Pitt Street.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions exist for Liverpool St Thomas' Chapel registers as well as for Liverpool's ancient parish of St Nicholas' baptism, marriage and burial registers. Displayed below are those links to online data for both this chapelry and for the ancient parish of St Nicholas located in the following websites; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LIVERPOOL ST THOMAS Chapelry (1750) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1750-1869  1821-1893 1813-1850
LOPC 1750-1905 1750-1905 1766-1875
LBMD None 1838-1935  None
AC 1750-1812 1750-1812 1750-1812
LIVERPOOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH (1604) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1894 1604-1911  1779-1787;1809-1825
LOPC 1776-1865 1788-1838 1776-1854
LBMD None 1837-1939 None
AC  1659-1812 1659-1812 1659-1812

To view a full list for all of Liverpool Parish’s (nearly 60) chapelries, ecclesiastical churches, and district chapels, and to view online baptism, marriage and burial transcription indexes, visit the LIVERPOOL ST PETER & ST NICHOLAS PARISH page.

Original Records

Liverpool St Thomas' Chapelry (parish) registers are held at the Liverpool Record Office. These registers have also been microfilmed by FamilySearch and they are available through its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438717.


Poor Law Unions

Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,648 times.