Livingston County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Livingston County

Guide to Livingston County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Livingston County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Livingston County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 27, 1837
County Seat Pontiac
Courthouse
Livingston County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Livingston County Courthouse
112 West Madison Street
Pontiac, Illinois 61764
(815) 844-2006
Livingston County Website
 

Contents

County Organization

Livingston County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Livingston County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1837
1878
1840
1835
1837

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Livingston County are kept, see the Livingston County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Edward Livingston of New York.jpg

The county was named for Edward Livingston, a lawyer and statesman. He was the Mayor of New York City, a representive in Congress from New York and Louisiana, United States Senator from Louisiana, Secretary of State under President Jackson and United States Minister to France.

Parent County

  • 1837--Livingston County was created 27 February 1837 from LaSalle and McLean Counties.

County seat:  Pontiac [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1831-1837 LaSalle
1831-1837 McLean
1826-1837 Vermilion
1827-1831 Tazewell
1821-1827 Fayette
1823-1826 Edgar
1819-1823 Clark
1816-1819 Crawford
1815-1816 Edwards
1812-1815 Madison
1801-1812 St. Clair
1790-1801 Knox, Northwest Territory

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Livingston County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Livingston County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

The Biographical Record of Livingston County, Illinois 1900

Portrait and Boigraphical Album of Livingston Coutny, Illinois  1888

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190042,035
191040,465−3.7%
192039,070−3.4%
193039,0920.1%
194038,838−0.6%
195037,809−2.6%
196040,3416.7%
197040,6900.9%
198041,3811.7%
199039,301−5.0%
200039,6781.0%
201038,950−1.8%
IL Counties 1900-1990


Church Records

A History of Livingston County, Illinois by Livingston Coutny History Project. Dallas, Texas: Curtis Media, c 1991. Has a section on Church and Cemetries of Livingston County. FHL book 977.361 D2h

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

The History of Livingston Coutny, Illinois

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

1857-1865 Swamp Land Records - IRAD-ISU. Available through the Family History Library FHL Film 1689002

1859-1946 Chattel Morgage Record - IRAD-ISU

Land records available through the Family History Library:

1853-1889 General index to deeds  FHL Film 1401697 Item 3.

1853-1921 Deed Records  FHL 451136 first film

Maps

Illivingston.jpg

Military Records

For information about using Military records see Illinois Military Records

Roll of Honor Livingston County - "all wars"  This site list name of soldiers alphabetically, service in which war, where buried, rank, branch of service, unit, date of death

War of 1812

1862-1919 Military Discharge Record -IRAD-ISU

Indian Wars

Military Land Grants in Livingston County, Illinois  For Soldiers of the Indian Wars  

Civil War


Civil War service men from Livingston County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Livingston County.

Artillery

-(William) Cogswell's Battery, Illinois Light ArtilleryRoster

Cavalry

-3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry Company K.

Infantry

- 20th_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company D.
- 39th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 44th_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company C.
- 52nd_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company D.
- 53rd_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company G.
-69th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
-129th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A, Company B, Company C, Company E, and Company G.
-138th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.


129th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E, the company was raised in Fairbury, Livingston County - USGenWeb

Military Record available at the Family History Library

Patriotic Roster of Livingston County, Illinois. by J.B. Parsons. FHL Book 977.361 M23p

1865-1945 Soldier's Discharge Records from Livingston County, Illinois. Recorder FHL film 1392962 Item 3. First film of 3

Grand Army of the Republic   'Union_Veterans'_and_Lineage_Society_Records (GAR)

A list of GAR Post in Illinois additional site for post list Library of Congress


List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883

World War I

Livingston County, Illinois in the World War   (Source: Internet Archives)

World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 (Source: Ancestry)

World War II

Army Casualties (Source: U.S. National Archives and  Record Administration)

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Livingston County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1854-1906 Naturalization Records, Illinois. Livingston County Court. FHL film1321643-1321646 Indexed.

Newspapers

Chronicling America Livingston County  (Library of Congress)

Newspapers Published in Livingston County Illinois Newspaper Project )

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Livingston County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1837-1958 Probate Case Files - IRAD-ISU

1917-1926 Probate Docket Index - IRAD-ISU


Probate records available through the Family History Library

1837-1905 Probate Records FHL film 1321647-1321649

1845-1891 Probate Records FHL film 1323368-1323377

Online Probate Records:

1819-1970 Probate Records, 1819-1970

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for Livingston County.

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Livingston County are kept, see the Livingston County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Livingston County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Find a Family History Center

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Illinois State Universtiy
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027

Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County

Public Libraries

Livingston County Public Libraries

School Records

1898-1995 School Pupil Diploma Record - IRAD-ISU

1898-1921 School Student Permanent Record, High School - IRAD-ISU

1935-1972 School Pupil Diploma Record, Prison - IRAD-ISU

Social Groups Online

Societies

Taxation

1872-1876 Tax Lists, Delinquent - IRAD-ISU

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Order Birth and Death Certificates Online

Livingston County Vital Records Office

Livingston County Clerk

County Courthouse

112 W. Madison St.

Pontiac, IL 61764

1-815-844-2006

Birth

1856-1900 Birth Certificates - IRAD-ISU

1856-1903 Birth Records - IRAD-ISU

1866-1950 Birth Record Index, Delayed - IRAD-ISU

Birth records available through the Family History Library

1878-1900 Register of births and birth cetificates, Birth index, 1848-1983 FHL films 1392963 First film of 12.

Marriage

1837-1900 Marriage Licenses - IRAD-ISU

1837-1943 Marriage Record - IRAD-ISU

1915-1975 Marriage Record Index - IRAD-ISU

Marriage records available through the Family History Library

1837-1922 Marriage Registers and Certificates, FHL film 1392959 first film of 33 films.

1876-1923 Applications from Marriage Licenses. FHL film 1401627 item 2-4 first film of 11

Death

1877-1900 Death Record - IRAD-ISU. Available through the Family History Library FHL Collection item 2-3

Voter Registration

Places / Localities

Web Sites

Databases Pertinent to Livingston County
Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois
Livingston County Probate Case Files Index (1837–1958)

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 195. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:30.
  • This page has been accessed 6,509 times.