Livingston County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Missouri go to Livingston County

Guide to Livingston County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Livingston County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Livingston County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1837 1883 1840 1831 1837


Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Livingston County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 6, 1837
County Seat Chillicothe
Courthouse
Address Livingston County Court House
700 Webster Street,
Chillicothe, Mo 64601
Phone: 660-646-2293
Livingston County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records; Recorder of Deeds
has marriage and land records; Probate Court has probate
records.  Clerk Circuit Court has court records[1]


History

  • Livingston County was formed in 1837 from Carroll County. Named after Hon. Edward Livingston, the 11th Secretary of State of the United States under President Andrew Jackson. History of Livingston County
  • You've heard of the "greatest thing since sliced bread. It was recently discovered that sliced bread was first offered for sale - ever - in Chillicothe, Missouri. A product of the Chillicothe Baking Company, it was sliced on a machine called the Rohwedder Bread Slicer. Invented by Iowa inventor, Otto Rohwedder, the bread slicer was put into practice in 1928 in beautiful downtown Chillicothe.

Parent County

1837--Livingston County was created 6 January 1837 from Carroll County. County seat: Chillicothe [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Caldwell  • Carroll  • Chariton  • Daviess County  • Grundy  • Linn

Livingston CountyLinn CountyMacon CountyGrundy CountyChariton CountyCarroll CountySaline CountyHoward CountyLafayette CountyRay CountyClay CountyJackson CountyCaldwell CountyClinton CountyDaviess CountyDeKalb CountyGentry CountySullivan CountyMercer CountyHarrison CountyAdair CountyMOLivingston.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190022,302
191019,453−12.8%
192018,857−3.1%
193018,615−1.3%
194018,000−3.3%
195016,532−8.2%
196015,771−4.6%
197015,368−2.6%
198015,7392.4%
199014,592−7.3%
200014,5880%
  • An article about the Federal and State Census Records that exist for Missouri. Missouri Census
  • No State Census Records exist for Livingston County, Missouri.
  • This article was written by G. David Dilts. It deals with finding elusive ancestors in the census. He gave this presentation at the Atlanta Family History expo in 2010. Finding Elusive Ancestors

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Bedford

  • 1873 - Bedford Baptism Index 1873. Batch C511681 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

St. Columban, Chillicothe

  • 1857-1876 - St. Columban, Chillicothe, Baptism Index 1857-1876. Batch C511551 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1857-1885 - St. Columban, Chillicothe, Marriage Index 1857-1885. Batch M511551 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Utica

  • 1873 - Utica Baptism Index 1873. Batch C511691 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Funeral Homes

Lindley Funeral Home

  • 910 Washington St. Chillicothe, Missouri 64601, Phone: (660) 646-4857
  • 309 Main St. Hale, Missouri 64643, Phone: (660) 565-2315
  • 102 E Main St. Laredo, Missouri 64652, Phone: (660) 286-3415
  • 120 N Main St. Tina, Missouri 64682, Phone: (660) 622-4413

Heritage Funeral Home

  • 3141 North Washington St., Chillicothe, Missouri 64601, Phone: (660) 646-6600
  • 490 W. Main, Breckenridge, Missouri 64625, Phone: (660) 644-5997

Resthaven Mortuary and Cemetery

  • 310 North Highway 65, Trenton, Missouri 64683, Phone: (660) 359-5672

Roberson Funeral Home

  • 503 So. Broadway St., Jamesport, Missouri 64648, Phone: (660) 684-6999

Slater Funeral Home

  • 412 E 9th St, Trenton, Missouri, 64683, Phone: (660) 359-3954

Whitaker-Eads Funeral Home

  • 813 Custer St, Trenton, Missouri 64683, Phone: (660) 359-3932

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Livingston County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • The Livingston County Library has a web paged titled Livingston County History. The site has County History, Communitiy Histories, Biographies, and a few Genealogy links.*
  • History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri : including a history of their townships, towns, and villages, together with a condensed history of Missouri...biographical sketches of prominent citizens; general and local statistics...incidents and reminiscences. St. Louis : National Historical Co., 1886.
  • One hundred years in Livingston County. [S.l.] : Livingston County Bicentennial Agriculture Committee (Missouri), 1976.

Maps

Molivingston.jpg

Migration

Military

  • This link is an index of Missouri Confederate Casualties. It is taken from the Offical Records of the Civil War in the National Archives Missouri Confederate Casualties
Civil War
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Livingston County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.


Brief History of Vital Records in Missouri

In 1883, the Missouri General Assembly enacted legislation providing for the Board of Health to have supervision of the statewide registration of births and deaths. This supervision amounted to prescribing “such forms and recommend[ing] such legislation as shall be deemed necessary for a thorough and complete registration of vital and mortuary statistics through the state.” (Laws of the State of Missouri, 1883, page 96/section 7) The State Board of Health was charged with preparing printed forms of certificates of births and deaths; these were to be provided to the clerks of the various counties and it was the duty of the county clerks to furnish the printed forms to the persons required to file birth and death reports.

This law did not make the reporting of all births and deaths mandatory. Due to non-compliance, the General Assembly repealed the statutes relating to the registration of births and deaths in Missouri in 1893.

It was not until 1910 that the General Assembly again provided for the registration of births and deaths on a statewide basis. Approved May 6, 1909, the act was to “provide for the immediate registration of all births and deaths throughout the state of Missouri by means of certificates of births and deaths and burial or removal permits; requiring prompt returns to the central bureau of vital statistics at the capital of the state, as required to be established by the state board of health, and to insure the thorough organization and efficiency of the registration of vital statistics throughout the state, and providing certain penalties” (Laws of the State of Missouri, 1909, page 538). Pursuant to this 1909 law, all births and deaths that occur in Missouri are reported to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. The Bureau of Vital Records maintains these birth and death records.

Births
  • Familysearch.org has indexed the Missouri Births and Christenings, 1827-1935. Missouri Birth and Christenings, including Livingston County Birth Volumes 1 and 2 (1847-1870) in Batch C515391, births 1883-1884 in Batch C515395, births 1884-1887 in Batch C515396, and births 1887-1889 in Batch C515397.
Marriages
  • Name index to marriage records from the state of Missouri, 1750-1920. Microfilm copies of these records are available at the Family History Library and Family History Centers Missouri, Marriages 1750-1920, including Livingston County Marriage Books 1 and 2 (1837-1867) in Batch M515391, Marriage Books 3 thru 5 (1867-1885) in Batch M515392, and Marriage Book 6 (1885) in Batch M515393.
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Library

Livingston County Library
450 Locust Street
Chillicothe, MO 64601
Phone: (660) 646 0547
Email: librarian@livingstoncountylibrary.org
Website: http://www.livingstoncountylibrary.org/history.htm

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Livingston County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Livingston County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Livingston County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Livingston County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Livingston County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Livingston County Message Board
MyHeritage.com ($) Livingston County Message Board

Wills

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Livingston County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
  4. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 October 2014, at 19:36.
  • This page has been accessed 10,233 times.