Llan-giwgEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Wales Gotoarrow.png Glamorgan Gotoarrow.png Llan-giwg

Llan-gwig ParishChurch.jpg
Llan-giwg (also spelled Llangiwg, Llanguick and Llanciwg) is an ecclesiastical parish in the north west portion of Glamorgan in Wales. The parish is five and a half miles Northwest of Neath. The church is dedicated to Saint Ciwg. The parish contains about 12,550 acres. The Duke of Beaufort was one of the largest landowners in the parish. 

Online Family Trees

Gibbs

Howell

Williams

Population

1801: 829  1811: 1060  1821: 1428  1831: 1847  1841: 2813  1851: 4229


Administration

Years Marcher Lordship / County
pre 1536 -the lordship of Glamorgan and Morgannwg

-the lordship of Gower and Kilvey

1536 - 31 March 1974 Glamorgan
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996
from 1 April 1996


Hamlets: Alltgreig, Blaenegel, Caegurwen, and Mawr.

Registration district:

Neath 1 July 1837 - 1 July 1875

Pontardawe 1 July 1875 - 1 January 1935

West Glamorgan 1 January 1935 - 1 April 1974

Swansea 1 April 1974 - present


Resources for finding ancestors

To start your search, decide when your ancestor lived. If he or she lived between 1837-1911, start by searching civil registration and census records. If they lived before 1837, use church records and probate records. Read more about these and other records below.

Census Records

The 1841-1911 censuses are available online with indexes and images:

Church Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
  • The following Llangiwg parish records are available at the Family History Library

Years
Bishop Transcripts: Christenings, Marriages, Burials and Christenings and Burials 1685-1713; 1725-1834 1837-1866
Llangiwg Marriages 1837-1859

The Glamorgan Family History Society have published many of the parish registers.


Nonconformist Church Records

The following chapel records from Llan-giwg parish are available on the IGI:

Chapel Years Batch
Pant teg 1822-1837 C10295-1
Cwmllynfell Chapel (Independent) Births and Baptisms 1760-1835

The following chapel records have been deposited at an archive:

Chapel Years Record location
Pant teg Christenings 1822-1837 TNA RG4 3495 FHL 813540



Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Llan-giwg will be recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 1974


Cemeteries

  • Carmel: transcript at West Glamorgan Archives
  • Cwmllynfell (old) (publication of transcript and index expected in 2014)
  • Cwmllynfell (new) (publication of transcript and index expected in 2014)
  • Gwrhyd: transcript & index published by Glamorgan Family History Society
  • Llan-giwg parish church (publication of transcript and index expected in 2014)
  • Saron Chapel (old & new): transcript & index published by Glamorgan Family History Society

Poor Law

Tithe Records

The tithe agreement date for Llan-giwg was 2 August 1838. A transcript is available online

See also

Bibliography

  • In the Footsteps of Saints and Sinners: Llangiwg Church past, present and future by D. Gerald O. James
  • The Diaries of Margaret Penrerel Jones of Garth 1871 to 1897 edited by Dr. Peter Jackson
  • The History of Pontardawe by J.E. Morgan
  • The Joneses and Penderels of Garth Rhydyfro, Pontardawe by Elizabeth F. Belcham

Websites

Llangiwg a site by Friends of Llangiwg Church

Llangiwg church on Facebook

Photos (church and family)

 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,447 times.