Llangarron, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Llangarron, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ross|
|Parish registers: 1569; Separate registers exist for St Weonards beginning 1624|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661; Separate records exist for St Weonards beginning 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
LLANGARRAN (St. Deinst), a parish, in the union of Ross, Lower division of the hundred of Wormelow, county of Hereford, 5 miles (W. S. W.) from Ross; which contains the townships of Kilreague, Llangunnoc, and Langstone (with Tre-Evan, Trecilla, Tredoughan, and Tretilla). 
Llangarron is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire Llangarron Wikipedia
The village name is also found in certain records spelt as Llangarren and Llangarran.
Llangarron St Deinst was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1849 from chapelry in Lugwardine, Herefordshire Ancient Parish.
Other places in the parish include: Trecilla, Tretilla, Tredoughan, St Weonards, Kilreague, Llangunnoc, Langstone with Tre-Evan, ( sometimes called Langstone and Tre-Evan. and Llangunoc sometimes spelled Llangunnock, and is the only church in England to be dedicated to the first Bishop of Bangor.
The Parish church of St Deinst has been designated asa grade I listed building British listed building
See also Herefordshire Parish Churches
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts
Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portalpage which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 119-121. Accessed and adapted 12 March, 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 21:44.
- This page has been accessed 2,170 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News