Llanymynech, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Llanymynech, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Llanymynech, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chirk; Oswestry
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Oswestry PLU
Registration District Llanfyllin; Oswestry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1666
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oswestry
Diocese St Asaph
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

For more information and records see Llanymynech, Montgomeryshire.

Parish History

LLANYMYNECH (St. Agatha),a parish, partly in the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh, North Wales, but chiefly in the hundred of Oswestry, N. division of Shropshire, 6 miles (S. by W.) from Oswestry. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Llanymynech parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
LLANYMYNECH PARISH (1666) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1683-1812


FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1666-1812
1666-1812
1666-1812
IGI 1666-1857
JOIN

1683-1812


MLOC 1666-1812
1666-1812
1666-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1857 Marr 1662-1837 Bur 1662-1857

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474586.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Llanymynech/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-126. Date accessed: 25 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,160 times.