Logan County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Logan County

Guide to Logan County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Morning breaks across Petit Jean Mountain, Logan County, Arkansas










Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records




Logan County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Logan County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 22, 1871
County Seat Paris
Courthouse
Address Logan County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Paris, AR 72855
Phone: 501.963.2618

Contents

County Courthouse

Logan County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Paris, AR 72855
Phone: 501.963.2618

County Clerk has marriage and probate records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Logan County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1877 1914* 1877 1878 1873
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
Local.Arkansas.gov Links to names of officials, no websites. Links to very recent property and tax information.
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

County seat: Paris [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Franklin  • Johnson  • Pope  • Scott  • Sebastian  • Yell  •

Logan CountyPope CountyYell CountyScott CountySebastian CountyJohnson CountyFranklin CountyCrawford CountyWashington CountyMadison CountyNewton CountyConway CountyPerry CountySearcy CountySaline CountyMontgomery CountyGarland CountyAdair CountyCherokee CountySequoyah CountyLe Flore CountyHaskell CountyLatimer CountyARLogan2.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

  • All of the family biographies from Logan County, Arkansas included in The Biographical and Historical Memoirs ofLogan County, Arkansas published by Southern Publishing Company in 1891 are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Cemeteries

Online Madison County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Madison County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • For 10,000 years various groups of Native Americans explored the wilderness west of the Mississippi River, collecting wild resources and establishing campsites but building no permanent homes.
  • 1800s (early) - A series of treaties with different tribes gradually removed their claim to the land, opening western Arkansas for white settlement.
  • 1830-1860 - settlers from states east of the Mississippi River poured into western Arkansas, establishing small farms and communities.
  • 1861-1865 - The population of Logan /County suffered tremendous hardships, and families who could afford it moved to other states for the duration of the war.
  • 1871 March 22 - An act was passed on March 22, 187l, creating “a county called Sarber.”
  • 1875 December 14 -The name was changed to Logan County, with Paris named as the official county seat.
  • 1930s - Hard times fell on the county in the Depression years of the 1930s. A decline in farm prices and a series of drought years devastated the farm economy. Unemployment became a major problem, and many families moved out of state to seek work

Maps

Military

Civil War

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Logan County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1877-1894 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Inventories and appraisements 1881-1894; Probate records 1877-1881.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Logan County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Logan County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Logan County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Logan County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Logan County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:46.
  • This page has been accessed 9,315 times.