Logan County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Logan County

Guide to Logan County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Logan County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Logan County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 15, 1839
County Seat Lincoln
Courthouse
Logan County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Logan County Courthouse
P.O. Box 278
Lincoln, Illinois 62656
(217)732-4148
Logan County Website
 

Contents

County Organization

Logan County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Logan County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1878
1857
1878
1840
1829
1855

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Logan County are kept, see the Logan County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Logan county was named for Dr. John Logan, a pioneer physician, and father of General John A. Logan, a General in the Union Army and who had a political presence in Illinois. John A. Logan is also known as the founder of Memorial Day.

Parent County

  • 1839--Logan County was created 15 February 1839, from Sangamon County.  County seats: Postville, Mt. Pulaski, Lincoln [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1827-1839 Tazewell
1821-1839 Sangamon
1817-1821 Bond
1812-1817 Madison
1790-1812 St. Clair
1790-1801 Knox, Northwest Territory

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

April 15, 1857 -- Courthouse burned and virtually all records were destroyed. For marriage and probate records 1820-1839 see Sangamon County

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Populated Places

Atlanta

Beason

Broadwell

Chestnut

Elkhart

Emden

Hartsburg

Lake Fork

Latham

Lincoln

Middletown

Mount Pulaski

New Holland

San Jose

Historical Place Names

Aetna, Albany, Allenville, Altic, Atlanta, Athol, Atlanta, Atteberry

Beason, Bell, Big Prairie, Bloomingdale, Boren, Broadwell, Burton View

Camden, Camp Latham, Chester, Chestervale, Chestnut, Clay, Cornland, Corwin, Crohurst, CroHurst Station

East Lincoln, Elk Hart City, Elk Heart City, Elkhart, Elkhart City, Emden, Eminence, Evans

Fogarty, Fulscher

Gale, Georgetown, Gilchrist, Gillett, Gold Springs, Griggs

Hamilton, Harness, Hartsburg, Hartsburgh, Hartwig, Hurlbut, Hurricane Point

Irish Grove

Johnsons, Johnsons Siding

Kickapoo, Kickapoo Siding, Kings, Kruger

Laenna, Lake Fork, Latham, Lawndale, Layman, Lee, Leesburgh, Lincoln, Lincoln Hill, Long Point, Lucas

Mackey, Madison, Martin, Middletown, Mt. Fulcher, Mt. Hope, Mt. Joy, Mt. Pulaski, Music, Musick's Ferry

Narita, New Castle, New Holland, North Lincoln

Oran, Orndorff, Orvil

P & N Junction, Peifer, Peoria District Junction, Perry, Postville, Prairie Creek, Pulaski

Quisenberry

Rhody, Richmond Grove

Salt Creek, San Jose, Scroggin, Sheridan, Skelton

Union, Utility

Warick, West Lincoln, Wilmert, Woodlawn, Woolf, Wyatt

Xenia

Yankeetown

Source:Illinois Place Names. Compiled by James N. Adams, Illinois Historical Society, 1989. Edited by William E. Keller with a new addendum by Lowell M. Volkel

Neighboring Counties


Records and Resources

Biography

History of Logan County, it's past and present 1878 (Google Books)

History of Logan County, Illinois  1886 (Google Books)

The Biographical Record of Logan County, Illinois  1901  (Google Books)

Logan County Biography Bibliography    (WorldCat)

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190028,680
191030,2165.4%
192029,562−2.2%
193028,863−2.4%
194029,4382.0%
195030,6714.2%
196033,6569.7%
197033,538−0.4%
198031,802−5.2%
199030,798−3.2%
200031,1831.3%
IL Counties 1900-1990
CENSUS RECORDS


1830 Sangamon County Census Images

1840 Logan County Census Index  

1840 Logan County Census Images 

1840 Census Summary 

1850 Logan County Census Index 

1850 Logan County Census Images 

1850 Mortality Tables

1855 Logan County State Census 

1855 Illinois Census Images [searchable]

1862 Military Census 

1865 Illinois Census Images [searchable] 

1860 Mortality Tables 


Church Records

1866-1920 Records of the Lincoln Circuit Methodist Churches in Logan County, Illinois. Copied by Mrs. Kenneth Patterson; indexed by Mrs. Jean Hauffe. FHL Collection two fiche and a Book: 977.357 K2p

Baptisms at New Holland Zion Lutheran Church  (Genealogy Trails History Group)

St. George Catholic Church Records 1868-1957. by Bill Korstick  WorldCat

History of the Eminence Church 1838-1932 

Lake Fork Predestinarian Baptists

The History of Logan County, Illinois, by Logan County Heritage Foundation, Dallas Texas. 1982 contains a section on the churches in the county. FHL Book 977.357 H2h

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Logan County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1857-1944 Circuit Court Case Files IRAD-ISU

1872-1963 Guardians' Records FHL film 1316630 first of 5 films

1857-1945Logan County Circuit Court Criminal Case Files Index

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

Maps

Illogan.jpg

Military Records

For information about using Military records see Illinois Military Records

Veteran's Honor Roll    ( Illinois Ancestors )  This site list names alphabetically, service in which war, rank, branch of service, unit, death and cemetery

Revolutionary War

Veterans Burials  (Genealogy Trails History Group)

War of 1812

Military Land Grants in Logan County Illinois for Soldiers of the War of 1812 - USGenWeb

Civil War


Civil War service men from Logan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Logan County.

Cavalry

- 2nd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company B.
- 4th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- 10th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company G.
- 14th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company D.

Infantry

- 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D, Company E, and Company H.
- 28th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 32nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 38th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 66th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 68th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 73rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 106th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B, Company C, Company D, Company E, Company F, Company G, Company H, and Company I.
- 108th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 145th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D, and Company H.
- 155th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.

Civil War Centennial Commission of Illinois. Illinois Military Units in the Civil War. (Springfield: Civil War Centennial Commission of Illinois, 1962). Other libraries with this book. FHL Collection.FHL US/CAN Book 977.3 M2im.

Civil War Dead, Logan County. transcribed by William J. Donath. FHL Collection

This is My Story: Veterans of Logan County Illinois. Logan County Genealogical and Historical Society

Grand Army of the Republic (GAR)

For a list of GAR Post in Illinois additional site for post list Library of Congress

Leo W. Myers Post, Lincoln 1913  - USGenWeb

Sam Walker Post, Mt. Pulaski 1913 - USGenWeb

Indian Wars

Military Land Grants in Logan County Illinois for Soldiers of the Indian Wars - USGenWeb

Pensioners

List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883

Addenda to Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883

World War I

World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918   (Ancestry)

World War II

Army Casualties   (U.S. National Archives and Record Administration)

FHL book 977.357 M2t v. 2

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library

1859-1906 Naturalization Records. Illinois County Court. FHL Collection Includes indexes.

Newspapers

Newspapers published in Logan County

Chronicling America    ( Library of Congress )

Search for Newspaper Obituaries at  Genealogy Bank

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Logan County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1820-1839 Probate Record IRAD-UIS

1894-1964 Probate Inventory Record IRAD-ISU

1931-1963 Probate Sale Record, Personal Property IRAD-ISU

Probate records available through the Family History Library

1844-1949 Probate Records. Logan, Illinois County Court FHL Collection

1855-1930 Will Records. Logan County Court. FHL Collection

Online Illinois Probate Records:

At FamilySearch

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for Logan County.

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Logan County are kept, see the Logan County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Logan County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. Find a FamilySearch Center

The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Springfield Illinois Family History Center
3601 Buckeye Dr.
Springfield, Illinois 62707
217-529-7930


Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Illinois State Universtiy
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027

Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County

Public Libraries

School Records

1897-1901 School Pupil Roster and inventory record, Girls Industrial's IRAD-ISU

1920-1948 School Pupil Diploma Records IRAD-ISU

Social Groups Online

Societies

Logan County Genealogical and Historical Society, 114 N. Chicago Street, Lincoln, IL 62656 1-217- 732-3200

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Order Birth and Death Certificates Online

Birth

Marriage

1820-1839 Marriage Records at IRAD-UIS

1857-1865 Marriage Record Index IRAD-ISU

1857-1901 Marriage Record IRAD-ISU

Death

Deaths in Logan County, Illinois (Genealogy Trails)

Places / Localities

Web Sites

Databases Pertinent to Logan County


Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois
Logan County Circuit Court Criminal Case Files Index (1857–1945)

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 196. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:30.
  • This page has been accessed 11,851 times.