Logan Iowa Family History CenterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


(Add a brief paragraph about your center here and the area it serves. Information in italics below is guidance for you and should be deleted as you fill out the page. Remove italics from other text by selecting the text and clicking the "I" box in the Toolbar above.)

Contents

Center Contacts and Hours

Location Map:

Address:

  • 2629 260th St Logan IA 51546 United States
  • Language:English

Phone:

  • 1-712-644-3495

E-mail:

  • IA_Logan@ldsmail.net

Open Hours:

  • Wednesday: 7:00pm-8:30pm

Holiday Schedule:

Closed all major holidays:

Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events

Class Schedule

Staff Training Meetings

Center Resources

Collections

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog. :*(List additional collections you have such as the types of books and microfilm you have on indefinite loan; though you will not want to list every single item you have. Just give visitors to this page a general idea of your resources.)

Databases and Software

  • Ancestry.com (Library version)
  • Heritage Quest
  • Footnote.com
  • AmericanAncestors.org
  • Godfrey Memorial Library
  • US Civil War Research Database
  • US Civil War Letters and Diaries
  • Images of the American Civil War
  • FindMyPast
  • TheGenealogist
  • British Library 19th C Newspapers
  • WorldVitalRecords
  • Pedigree Resource File
  • Personal Ancestral File
  • Family Insight
  • RootsMagic
  • Ancestral Quest
  • Legacy

Description of some of the above databases

Footnote is a subscription-based website that features searchable,
original documents that provide users a view of the events, places and people
that shaped the American nation and the world. The site will have over 25
million digital images by the end of 2007. Footnote is currently working with
FamilySearch to index the American Revolutionary War Pension files. Additional
projects with FamilySearch are under development.

Individuals with Footnote subscriptions will be able to sign in with the
same Footnote username and password they use at home in order to save, annotate,
and upload content.

Godfrey Memorial Library has an extensive collection of essential
resources to assist genealogical and historical research. Resources include
newspapers, city and business directories, vital records, printed census
records, state, county, and local histories, as well as numerous family
histories, family bible records, and service and pension records.

Heritage Quest online includes the complete set of U.S. Federal Census
images from 1790 to 1930 including names and indexes for many of the sets. Users
will be able to find people and places located in over 20,000 published family
and local histories and PERSI, an index of over 1.9 million genealogy and local
history articles. Other online databases include Revolutionary War Pension,
Bounty-Land Warrant Application files, and the Freedman Bank Records.

Access to this service will be limited to 1,400 family history centers in
North America. Patrons should contact their local family history center to see
if this service is available. Family history center directors should contact
Family History Center Support with questions.

World Vital Records provides access to research helps and has a wide
variety of international records, including more than 60 parish registers,
Scottish death records, UK marriages, and Irish prisoner records. There are more
than 300 newspapers with 100,000 pages added a month, and over 500 online
databases, including vital, military, land, pension records, reference
materials, family histories, maps, gazetteers, and international coops. With the
recent Quintin Publications partnership, World Vital Records will soon have more
than 10,000 databases online. At least one new database is added every business
day.

Online Training

Hardware and Equipment

  • (Include the resources you have to help individuals do their research - computers, microfilm readers, printers, etc. )

Useful Links

Center Services

Staff Research Specialties

'(Include sections for any other services your center provides. Add additional sections for those services. See the Mesa and Logan FHC pages for examples.)

Resources in the Local Area

(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)

Links

Volunteer at the Center

(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 November 2014, at 03:03.
  • This page has been accessed 683 times.