London For Further ReadingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
For Further Reading
Contents |
Genealogical Guides
Several guides have been written about family history research in London.
- Dunn, Phillip B. A Guide to Ancestral Research in London. Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing & Marketing, c1987, 1992. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
- Raymond, Stuart A. London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography. 2 vols. Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997. FHL Books 942.1 D27r 1997 v. 1-v. 2.
- Taylor, Neville C. The City of London & Middlesex: Parish Registers, Nonconformist Registers, Marriage Licences, Monumental Inscriptions. London: Society of Genealogists, c2002. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D23tb no. 13.
- Webb, Cliff. A List of Books and Articles about London and Middlesex Places: Including Metropolitan Surrey. Woking, UK: West Surrey Family History Society, c1998. FHL Book 942.21 H25w no. 39.
- Webb, Cliff. Genealogical Research in Late Victorian and Edwardian London. West Surrey Family History Society, c1999. 942.21 H25w no. 15 1999.
- Webb, Cliff. Genealogical Research in Victorian London. West Surrey Family History Society, 2000. FHL Book 942.21 H25w no. 6 2000.
- Webb, Cliff. My Ancestors were Londoners: A Guide to London Sources for Family Historians. London: Society of Genealogists, 2009. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27w 2009.
- Webb, Cliff. London and Middlesex. London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., c1995. FHL Book 942 D27ste v. 9 pt. 5. Guide to London parish registers and bishop's transcripts.
OId Travel Guides
- Microcosm of London (1808-1811) includes sketches of many well-known places in London.
- Collins' Illustrated Guide to London (1873) includes sketches and descriptions of Victorian London.[1]
Histories
- George, M. Dorothy. London Life in the Eighteenth Century. Chicago, 1965.
- Weinreb, Ben and Christopher Hibbert, eds. London Encyclopaedia. London, 1983.
Websites
- Stuck in London: resources at the Society of Genealogists and elsewhere. Power Point slides by Else Churchill, Genealogist of the Society of Genealogists.
- London Genealogy on Genuki. Guide to London genealogical research.
- City of London Resources at the Society of Genealogists Library. Guide to London family history resources at the Library.
- London and Middlesex Resources at the Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies. Guide to London family history resources at the Institute.
- London Metropolitan Archives Information Leaflets. Guides to various London family history sources at the Archives.
- Guildhall Library Leaflets. Guides to various London family history sources at the Library.
- London Ancestors. Maps, church sketches, newspapers, history, research guide.
- London Lives 1690 to 1800 ~ Crime, Poverty and Social Policy in the Metropolis
- Connected Histories - British History Sources, 1500-1900. Searches Old Bailey Online, London Lives, and other London databases in one step.
- Locating London's Past
- London's Past Online - Bibliography of British and Irish History. Exhaustive list of 40,000+ London histories categorized by topic. Subscription required.
References
- ↑ Thanks to Audrey Collins's blog post for this reference: 'Those Places Thursday - Collins Illustrated Guide to London,' The Family Recorder, 9 December 2011, http://thefamilyrecorder.blogspot.com/2011/12/those-places-thursday-collins.html, accessed 1 August 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 September 2012, at 04:49.
- This page has been accessed 602 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More