London Metropolitan ArchivesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Archives and LibrariesGotoarrow.pngLondon Metropolitan Archives

London Metropolitan Archives

Contents

Contact Information

E-mail:  ask.lma@cityoflondon.gov.uk
Address:

London Metropolitan Archives
40 Northampton Road
City of London EC1R 0HB
United Kingdom

Telephone:  020 7332 3820
Fax:  

Hours and holidays: Monday 9:30 AM-4:45 PM; Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 9:30 AM-7:30 PM; closed Fridays. Open one Saturday per month. For Saturday and holiday schedules, see Visitor Information.

Directions, maps, and public transportation: accessible by Underground (Farringdon station), rail, bus, bicycle, and car. For a map and further details, see: Visitor Information.

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

  • Greater London parish registers, poor law records, wills, sessions records
  • Subscription to Ancestry.co.uk

Tips

  • History card required
  • Common room with snack, hot and cold drink machines
  • Digital photography permitted for a fee
  • Lockers
  • Computers available to the public

Guides

In addition, there are more than 50 information leaflets available online for specific record groups such as parish registers, nonconformist records, poor law records, cemetery records, wills, marriage licences, tax records, electoral registers, London freemen, livery companies, ethnic groups (Jews, black Caribbeans, Chinese, and Germans), foundlings, hospital records, clergymen, Middlesex deeds, prison records, and transported convict records.

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the London Metropolitan Archives, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Neighboring Collections

Sources


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 February 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 4,498 times.